Switch Theme:

Rerolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Sussex

Came accros this the other day and thought I'd see what the general consensus is.

Wolves vs blood Angels with brother coppelo

Bjorn took a penetrating hit from a lascannon he rolled a 6 so being venerable I said Reroll it and he rolled a 1 so wanted to use brother coppelos Reroll. I said no you can't rereoll a Reroll, he tried claiming that his Reroll would cancel bjorns venerable reroll out.

I noticed in the latest FAQ for the rule book it states that doom and fortune would cancel each other out to save time.

What's your opinions???
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You can never re-roll a re-roll. This is covered right at the start of the core rules.


 
   
Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Sussex

But does brother coppelos Reroll cancel out bjorns venerable Reroll as with the updated FAQ ref rerolling saves and failed saves
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Brother Corbulo's re-roll does not cancel out the re-roll from the venerable dread.

This is not the same situation as described in the FAQ. Doom and fortune cancel each other out because one lets you re-roll all failed saves and one makes you re-roll all made saves.

With the FAQ the two abilities are in conflict with each other. The venerable re-roll and Brother C's re-roll are not.

Brother C only lets you re-roll any roll you have just made, the Venerable rules lets your opponent decide if he wants you to re-roll the die.

However, if you roll for damage against a venerable dread and roll a 1, you could use Brother C's re-roll and the venerable would not let him force you to re-roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/27 20:57:33


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Basically the FAQ was stating: Unit A takes 6 wounds (before saves). I roll three 6's and three 1's. Instead of re-rolling all 6 saves, due to powers, we just cancel out the two abilities (to save time). If it was just 1 save (as in this case), I would say either way it get's re-rolled, but as stated before, you cannot re-roll a re-roll.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Sussex

Cheers death that was my argument I'll send him this link lol
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: