Switch Theme:

pop smoke on scout move, can you still shoot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

Say you have a tank that had scout, smoke launchers, and a main weapon

you scout move as described before the first movement phase, and at the end of your move, you pop smoke

it is now turn 1, you got to go first, you get to move again and comes your shooting phase, you already popp'ed smoke but not on this turn since it occurred during a turn wich did not have a shooting phase.

so do you get to shoot now?

And does the vehicle get smoke coverage still at this time since it lasts until the end of the opponent's next shooting phase?

something like a 4+ cover baal predator shooting at you by turn 1.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes you get to shoot still.

You no longer benefit from smoke in your oponents turn.

net result: you wasted your smoke launchers.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

Someone is pointing out that on p62 that the smoke launcher effect is supposed to last till the end of your enemy's next shooting phase which would not have happened yet strictly going by the wording in the book in the above scenario.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes you get to shoot still.

You no longer benefit from smoke in your oponents turn.

net result: you wasted your smoke launchers.


Hate to say this but by the RAW your incorrect. as sudojoe stated in his last post page 62 states that smoke is in effect until the end of enemies next shooting phase which if you get first turn after popping smoke hasn't come around. It is cheese but it is by the wording of the rule legal to pop smoke in a scout move, then in your turn 1 if you go first move and shoot because also on page 62 it mentions you may not fire the turn you pop smoke and the scout move does not take place turn 1.

Cheese, maybe not RAI but diffidently RAW.

 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

One of those RAW situations that won't make you any friends. Then again, if your gaming envirorment is that competitive to begin with, you might not be playing friendly games, so go for it.

My shops enviorment, it would be seen as something clever from the rulebook, that no one would do, and I'd rule against it in turnaments.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I thought you could only pop smoke in the movement phase. Is there a FAQ/Errata that allows you to pop on scout move?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





It is in the Blood Angels FAQ page 2 right hand column top question

Q: Can a Baal Predator use smoke launchers during its
Scout move? (p36)
A: Yes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/28 17:21:42


 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





I feel like you can pop your smoke and still shoot but if you move again then at that point you should lose your smoke cover seeing as how you moved out of the cloud of smoke you laid down. I feel like you should not be able to take a cloud of smoke with you but going strictly on the wording( which way too often takes place of fluff and "what would actually happen based on physics n things like that") you would be able to move smoke move shoot......oh boy lol

Tyranids will consume the universe!!! There is no chance for survival!!
.........eventually anyways......... 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Hard rules yes you may shoot, and yes you still get the 4+.

However as said above it wont make you any friends.

   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Saiisil wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes you get to shoot still.

You no longer benefit from smoke in your oponents turn.

net result: you wasted your smoke launchers.


Hate to say this but by the RAW your incorrect. as sudojoe stated in his last post page 62 states that smoke is in effect until the end of enemies next shooting phase which if you get first turn after popping smoke hasn't come around. It is cheese but it is by the wording of the rule legal to pop smoke in a scout move, then in your turn 1 if you go first move and shoot because also on page 62 it mentions you may not fire the turn you pop smoke and the scout move does not take place turn 1.

Cheese, maybe not RAI but diffidently RAW.


This is why you should always double-check which rule you are answering on; I was thinking of Flat-out; which is dependent on last turns movement.

If you have a fast skimmer going flat out in scouts, and have first turn, then move only 6" and fire everything; you will not get the cover save in your opponents turn(but you could be up to 24" closer to whatever it is you wanted to get to).

I was thinking that smoke launchers had the same "last turn"-type of wording and didn't double check

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: