Switch Theme:

Obyron w/ Flayed Ones + blood swarm nano scarabs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Could an army containing the Stormlord an Obyron roll for a unit with blood swarm scarabs, then attach Obyron to a unit of flayed ones and use his Ghostwalk Mantle to be removed from the board and not drift if landing within 6" of the target of blood swarm scarabs?
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





NecronLord3 wrote:Could an army containing the Stormlord an Obyron roll for a unit with blood swarm scarabs, then attach Obyron to a unit of flayed ones and use his Ghostwalk Mantle to be removed from the board and not drift if landing within 6" of the target of blood swarm scarabs?


Yes. Obyron's mantle causes him (and the unit he joins) to be "removed from the tabletop and placed anywhere together using the rules for Deep Strike". Looks me that you are satisfying the requirements for the Bloodswarm Scarabs which only care if the Flayed Ones are entering play via Deep Strike. Where the Deep Strike is originating from is irrelevant.

-Yad
   
Made in pl
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte





Warsaw

Sadly, you still cannot assault after DS and either you get assaulted or take full barrage at point blank range if what you DS to has rapid fire :/

Hope 6th Ed will allow Assault after DS, that would make Flayed Ones usable and fun unit to have.



 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Doesn't Imotekh's rule say "a unit of Flayed Ones" not "a unit with at least one Flayed One". In order for them not to scatter, it would have to say something like the latter and not the former.

A unit consisting of several Flayed Ones and Obyron is not a unit of Flayed Ones.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





DarknessEternal wrote:Doesn't Imotekh's rule say "a unit of Flayed Ones" not "a unit with at least one Flayed One". In order for them not to scatter, it would have to say something like the latter and not the former.

A unit consisting of several Flayed Ones and Obyron is not a unit of Flayed Ones.


Hmm, good point. Looking back at the rule it looks like only a model called a Flayed One can benefit from this rule.

-Yad
   
Made in be
Deranged Necron Destroyer






but better you could add two lords from courts to the unit and let them deepstrike that way with them much better than obyron:

Necron lord, scythe, orb, scarabs
Necron lord, scythe, scarabs
8 to 10 Flayed ones

He really won't like them to appear in his backyard...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 00:00:00


You have ruled this galaxy for ten thousand years
Yet have little of account to show for your efforts
Order. Unity. Obedience.
We taught the galaxy these things

And we shall do so again.

4500 pts


 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Court members can't lead Flayed Ones.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Believe me I had an awesome conversion in mind if they could.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 00:18:42


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Independent characters attached to a unit are treated as a member of the unit. In the case of flayed ones, the IC plus flayed ones count as a unit of flayed ones, NOT a unit of flayed ones and attached IC.

This is also why you can Deathwing assault with Belial attached. That is also a deepstrike special rule that works for particular squads, "Deathwing Terminators," so was the quickest example I could find to illustrate my point.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: