Switch Theme:

Dreadnoughts and facings in close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Scenario: Dreanought ends first round of combat with enemy squad; only one model in enemy squad remains. Out of habit, I habitually reach down and rotate the dreanought (on his center point) 80 or so degrees to right, thus making him "face" his single remaining opponent. A fellow standing near-by butted-in and stated that I could'nt. He also said that I moved the dreanought 3/4 of an inch to the left when I moved it.

A) While I very well might have shifted the dreadnoughts base to the left slightly in the rotation (4 other people were watching, hes the only one who noticed it; who knows?), would it even matter? For the last 10+ years of playing 40k, I've always adjusted the models in combat at the end of each round of close combat, to ensure maximum base-to-base contact, and becuase it makes it look better if they are all facing each other. And I beleive the rules even have a small thing called 'consolidation'. AM I missing something?

B) Dreanoughts. SInce they can no longer rotate at their waist after being immobilized, thier facing really is important. But again, at the end of each round of close combat, would'nt the dreanought consolidate/re-adjust/etc.? Or is the dreanought stuck in exactly the same facing that it was in when it, or the enemy, initiated close combat, until the combat is over? (one side being wiped out/breaking/otherwise over)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 00:20:06


"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Walkers in close combat are always hit on their front facing regardless of it's position relative to attacking models.

Turning on the spot...haven't got a rulebook handy so will let someone else answer that, although I don't see how it matters most of the time since most bases are circular and it doesn't matter which way infantry are facing anyway.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I believe that if there was a model in base contact with the dread then he doesnt move. If there were no models in base with the dread then he does move into base with an enemy if he charged, otherwise the enemy will consolidate first.

In any event, when moving infantry (and walkers by extension) you may change their facing freely. Thus, if you had to move to get into base with the last model then you get to change facing, otherwise no movement no pivoting.

While it may seem a little silly, reorienting your dread's facing does have an in-game effect, especially if the enemy is firing blast templates that, when scattering, would hit back armor instead of front (or vice versa) OR if you get immoblized subsequently after you pivoted when you were not supposed to.

So moral of the story is that unless someone finds a rule otherwise, you can only pivot when the model moves, and if in base contact with enemy models you may not move.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






B) Dreanoughts. SInce they can no longer rotate at their waist after being immobilized, thier facing really is important. But again, at the end of each round of close combat, would'nt the dreanought consolidate/re-adjust/etc.? Or is the dreanought stuck in exactly the same facing that it was in when it, or the enemy, initiated close combat, until the combat is over? (one side being wiped out/breaking/otherwise over)

There are no rules permitting you to move a model that is in base contact with an enemy with a WS. So, if you were in a position where the Dreadnought was no longer in base contact but is still locked, he'd be able to pile in (and, therefore, pivot), but otherwise he'd have to stay still.

And retaining your original facing is important. What if the Dreadnought gets immobilised during the combat but still wins? It would greatly affect the Dreadnought's actions for the rest of the game (for better or for worse).
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Note that the dreadnoughts's facing doesn't actually matter while it is in combat, regardless of whether or not it is immobilised.

But after the combat ends, it does matter again. For that reason alone, moving the dreadnought when the rules don't tell you to can cause issues.

 
   
Made in ca
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




A fortified bunker deep in the Andes

DevianID wrote:While it may seem a little silly, reorienting your dread's facing does have an in-game effect, especially if the enemy is firing blast templates that, when scattering, would hit back armor instead of front (or vice versa) OR if you get immoblized subsequently after you pivoted when you were not supposed to.


I was under the impression that blast templates always hit the facing that faces the gun, no matter the scatter.

As to facing, mini rule book page 73:"immobilized and/or stunned walkers fight in close combat with one less attack than usual...but otherwise attack normally". The way I understand this, pivoting towards enemies at the beginning of assault combat still works, but movement of any kind after combat proper is not part of the "attack" portion of the assault phase and as such cannot happen. UNdamaged Dreads act exactly like infantry in combat, from pile in to consolidation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 17:31:14


Actual conversation from my stats class-
Student: Why is the denominator on that equation n-1?
Prof: n is very good, but n-1 is also very good.


GENERATION 5: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Reread - if your blast scatters off, then you use the direction of the centre blast.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Cortez667 wrote:
A) While I very well might have shifted the dreadnoughts base to the left slightly in the rotation (4 other people were watching, hes the only one who noticed it; who knows?), would it even matter? For the last 10+ years of playing 40k, I've always adjusted the models in combat at the end of each round of close combat, to ensure maximum base-to-base contact, and becuase it makes it look better if they are all facing each other. And I beleive the rules even have a small thing called 'consolidation'. AM I missing something?


It's called 'pile-in', but if you are already in B2B, then you don't move at all...not even to rotate. Page 40 on the lower left.

B) Dreanoughts. SInce they can no longer rotate at their waist after being immobilized, thier facing really is important. But again, at the end of each round of close combat, would'nt the dreanought consolidate/re-adjust/etc.? Or is the dreanought stuck in exactly the same facing that it was in when it, or the enemy, initiated close combat, until the combat is over? (one side being wiped out/breaking/otherwise over)


If the dreadnought won combat and enemy squad ran or was wiped out, yes you would get to consolidate as he fights like infantry. If there is on-going combat and you are still in B2B at the end of a round of combat, you can't change facing.

   
Made in ca
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




A fortified bunker deep in the Andes

nosferatu1001 wrote:Reread - if your blast scatters off, then you use the direction of the centre blast.


Little book P60: -the center of the blast marker ends over the vehicle's hull. In this case... the armor penetration roll is resolved against the armor value facing the firer, regardless of the position of the firer.

Perhaps this is an error in communication and you are referring to hits scattered off of the hull, while I am considering hits ON the hull.

Actual conversation from my stats class-
Student: Why is the denominator on that equation n-1?
Prof: n is very good, but n-1 is also very good.


GENERATION 5: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"no matter the scatter" was your statement, which is in error - if you scatter off the hull, then the blast is not resolved from the direction of the firing model
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Thanks everyone, I appreciate the help clearing that up.

My death company dreadnought always sees a lot of action, so I'm glad this is cleared up.


"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: