| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:58:44
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
poland
|
if the warboss  (W) wound the unit 5 times would the captain have to take a armor save aswell even though he is out of range (2' away of the model attacking the warboss)
do you get armor saves against a wreckin' ball
thank you in advance
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 20:01:13
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 18:12:13
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
ICs are their own unit in CC - if the warboss is attacking the unit and not the Captain then the wounds are applied to the unit, not the Captain.
Wrecking Balls don't disallow saves so I guess yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 18:28:02
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
poland
|
but if it would be a unit with a different, lets say, armour save would he lose a wound ?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 20:03:15
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
megaorkwarboss wrote:but if it would be a unit with a different, lets say, armour save would he lose a wound ?
You might need to try that question again, because right now it's a little unclear just what you are asking.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 22:13:53
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
megaorkwarboss wrote:if the warboss  (W) wound the unit 5 times would the captain have to take a armor save aswell even though he is out of range (2' away of the model attacking the warboss)
No, ICs are treated as separate units in CC so you must in in B2B to direct attacks at them. And if you attack the unit and kill them all excess wounds do not spill over to the Captain.
do you get armor saves against a wreckin' ball
Yes
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 00:02:54
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Wait, so if a have a unit of let's say 5 boyz and ghazghkull, in close combat with a squad of assault marines and the assault marines make 6 wounds. Does this mean that he, before rolling to hit/wound has to clearly define that say 4 are going to boyz and 2 are going to Ghaz? If there are left over unsaved wounds (e.g. 6 unsaved wounds on 5 boys) do they transfer over the Ghaz or are they lost?
Thanks!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 00:13:45
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
A bit of a presumption here, but you'd reckon that Ghaz would automatically be in CC as he'd either be the target, or the attacker.
For the scenario that you use there, Ghaz would have to be in base to base contact with someone from the unit for it to work (unless there a "throw rocks at 'im" USR that I missed  "), and I think that from there it then depends on the number of people that are in b2b with him, and the number of attacks that they can make.
Ie, you can't have a sergeant with power sword in b2b with a grot, yet claim his cc rules against Ghaz who is 3 models away.
left over wounds that had been allocated to the boys are lost if not required, you can't then 'jump them' over to the next model, as you'd just end up steam rolling a unit... I guess that would be a way to cheat the % of dead for working out combat victory result (just saying, not endorsing!)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 00:34:41
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
mazik765 wrote:Wait, so if a have a unit of let's say 5 boyz and ghazghkull, in close combat with a squad of assault marines and the assault marines make 6 wounds. Does this mean that he, before rolling to hit/wound has to clearly define that say 4 are going to boyz and 2 are going to Ghaz? If there are left over unsaved wounds (e.g. 6 unsaved wounds on 5 boys) do they transfer over the Ghaz or are they lost?
Thanks!
You need to declare attacks against which unit they are attacking. If your marines did 6 wounds, all 6 have to go against the boyz because you did not explicitly put any on the IC. If this means you kill all 5 boyz, Ghaz never takes a wound.
Always declare which models are attacking the IC and which are attacking the unit and resolve them separately.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 02:08:56
Subject: close combat wounds/wreckin' ball
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
nkelsch wrote: If your marines did 6 wounds, all 6 have to go against the boyz because you did not explicitly put any on the IC.
This is not exactly accurate.
If the marines were only in base contact with the boyz, then there is no need to allocate. All of their attacks would go to the boyz. Likewise, any marine in base contact only with Ghaz would only be able to attack Ghaz.
Any marine in base contact with both Ghaz and at least one boy, or not in base contact but within 2" of another marine in base contact with both would have to declare whether they are attack Ghaz or the boyz before rolling.
If you don't declare before rolling, there is no default 'attacks go to the squad' setting. It's simply an invalid attack, since you didn't declare who you were attacking... the roll simply doesn't mean anything. You would have to declare and roll again.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|