Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 02:46:49
Subject: GKs and force weapon activation
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
Just a couple of quick (possibly obvious) questions relating to GKs
Can GKs activate their force weapons "for free", or do they still need to have an unused psychic power - ie if a unit of GKs with PWs is allowed 1 psychic power per turn, can they assault - cast hammerhand - and then activate their force weapons? I presume no
What if theres a second IC psycher in the unit? Can the unit cast hammerhand and the IC activate all force weapons across the squad or only for himself? Does this differ if the IC hammerhands the squad and then the squad activates everyones force weapons? I presume theres no difference between these two versions and in both cases everything is hammerhanded, and everything has an active FW (assuming all psychic tests go through).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 02:50:32
Subject: GKs and force weapon activation
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
For the first question, no. You need an unspent psychic power to activate ID. The second, I'm not sure, but I think (and I'm probably wrong here), if the IC is at a higher initiative then, he could activate ID for the entire unit he is with. If he is at a lower Initiative then the squad (and the squad hammerhanded), then he would not be able to.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 03:12:34
Subject: GKs and force weapon activation
|
 |
Shepherd
|
If the group does not have a character with a higher psyker level then they ONLY get 1 psy power so they cannot due hammer hand and insta death. If they have a libby or someone with a psy rating of 2, 3 etc then they can ctivate more then one power. Also the only way they can do one roll for the entire squad is if the model used as the power focus has brotherhood of psykers otherwise they each have to make a test.
|
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 03:17:51
Subject: GKs and force weapon activation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Eeps wrote:Just a couple of quick (possibly obvious) questions relating to GKs
Can GKs activate their force weapons "for free", or do they still need to have an unused psychic power - ie if a unit of GKs with PWs is allowed 1 psychic power per turn, can they assault - cast hammerhand - and then activate their force weapons? I presume no
No, GK can still only use one psychic power a turn. Activating a force weapon is using a psychic power.
What if theres a second IC psycher in the unit? Can the unit cast hammerhand and the IC activate all force weapons across the squad or only for himself?
No. The ICs don't have the "Brotherhood of Psykers" rule so they can't activate the GK force weapons.
Does this differ if the IC hammerhands the squad and then the squad activates everyones force weapons?
Yes this works as hammerhand affects the entire unit. After that GK use "Brotherhood of Psykers" to activate their force weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 09:41:53
Subject: GKs and force weapon activation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. It is still a separate psychic power, as defined on page 50 of the BRB, just "Brotherhood of psykers", which GKT / Strike Squads etc have, lets one test activate all of their powers.
An IC can only ever activate HIS force weapon, never a unit he is attached to, as he lacks BoP
So yes, it makes a difference - to get the +1S AND the squad having ID weapons the IC wold have to cast hammerhand and the unit cast ID, potentially automatically if they take a brotherhood banner.
There is one unt which CAN do both, but it requires the Justicar special character Thawn to be there - he has Mastery 2, so he can cast Hammerhand without using up the "squads" psychic power for that turn
|
|
 |
 |
|