Switch Theme:

Drop pod Inertial guidance question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Ok so we know that the inertial guidance rules ays you can move a drop pod that scatters the least amount of distance nessisary to avoid landing on a model either friend or foe. Lets say you aim for a unit, that is attempt to drop on a space occupied by an enemy tank, and role a hit on the scatter die. Does this rule allow you to correct the pod and place it the least distance away from the tank nessisary to not hit it, or do you mishapp?

You make the call Dakka....
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You would mishap. Guidance only applies if you scatter into mishap, but since you decided to drop in a mishap location, you suffer the mishap.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Actually, iirc, you are not allowed to target a DS on top of another unit - the had to FAQ to allow the Mawloc to do it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Deep Strike rules say to place the model on the table. On top of another model is not on the table.

Furthermore The drop pods Inertial guidance only allows you to reduce scatter to avoid a mishap. Hypothetically, with the situation you outlined, moving it when rolling a 'HIT' is increasing scatter, not decreasing scatter. Hypothetically because the situation you outlined is Illegal.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

DeathReaper wrote:The Deep Strike rules say to place the model on the table. On top of another model is not on the table.

Furthermore The drop pods Inertial guidance only allows you to reduce scatter to avoid a mishap. Hypothetically, with the situation you outlined, moving it when rolling a 'HIT' is increasing scatter, not decreasing scatter. Hypothetically because the situation you outlined is Illegal.


You would mishap. You can attempt to DS into impassible terrain on the board if you want. It is a terrible idea usually, but if you did so with a Drop Pod it would mishap since you cannot reduce the scatter when you do not scatter at all.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Gonna have to go with Happyjew on this one. The wording of the rule is reducing scatter distance and if you roll the hit in that situation you would have no scatter to reduce so you would mishap.

 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

You cannot reduce scatter to avoid the vehicle because any change in position would be increasing scatter so the drop pod would mishap.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: