Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 06:16:16
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
DC
|
Question for this situation:
Stormraven arrives from regular reserve with termies and furi-dread.
Can the termies disembark off table and walk on 6 inches?
|
- Ender
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 06:21:39
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
No, if they were declared embarked(when they were put in reserve) they cannot as you would have to roll separately for their reserve rolls, for them to come in as a separate group from the transport.. Also for them to disembark the Stormraven would have to stop off table as per the BRB FAQ instantly destroying it and everything embarked on it(termies to).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/04 06:22:22
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 06:30:32
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
DC
|
Even though the BRB p94 states units arriving from reserve are "measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal"?
|
- Ender
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 06:39:57
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
The Stormraven would have to stop while its moving on to the board from reserve for the Termies to disembark(theres no rule allowing you to disembark from a transport while its in reserve), the stormraven would have to be chosen as the model arriving from reserve first then it would have to stop off board for models to disembark which would cause: Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94) A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play. In short its just not possible to have them disembark before they arrive on the table, though the stormraven could move onto the board and then let them disembark(provided it doesn't go to flat out unless it uses skies of blood or the GK equivalent)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/04 06:42:22
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 07:28:34
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
DC
|
the stormraven wouldnt stop as the termies would get out before the stormraven started its move.
I am not convinced that this would work, but am curious of the wording of p94 of "measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal"
because of the way it is written it seems that you could disembark the unit from the table edge before you begin the normal movement.
|
- Ender
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 07:37:54
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
While the models are off the table their is also no legal way for them to disembark because there are no rules allowing it so it would fall back to the if even emergency disembarkation is not possible the unit cannot disembark(P.67). Because you cannot place models off the table then you cannot disembark. Ender6 wrote:the stormraven wouldnt stop as the termies would get out before the stormraven started its move. I am not convinced that this would work, but am curious of the wording of p94 of "measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal" because of the way it is written it seems that you could disembark the unit from the table edge before you begin the normal movement. for your quote from p94 you missed the"When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s own table edge (unless it’s deep striking or outflanking). Each model’s move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal." your ending up taking the rule out of context, it does not allow an exception to disembark models from off the table, and it only counts as being in that position when the model arrives so you would have to be bringing the stormraven in from reserve for it to count as occupying that location and you must then move it on to the table immediately as you cannot keep it in reserve once its been selected to come in from reserve. sorry for all the edits its late and my sentence structure is suffering.
|
This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2011/12/04 07:54:25
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 08:08:41
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Ender6 wrote:Even though the BRB p94 states units arriving from reserve are "measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal"?
Yes, models arriving from reserve come on in this way. However, pg 94 also states:
Col 1, par 6: RESERVES: Preparing Reserves: "Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together. Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with [ ]."
If the transport and the unit were declared to be placed in reserves TOGETHER, then the unit and the transport must arrive TOGETHER, not separately, even if they enter from the same point on the edge of the table. There is not even the hint of disembarking embarked models from a transport in reserves off the table.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 08:32:50
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Ender6 wrote:I am not convinced that this would work, but am curious of the wording of p94 of "measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal"
because of the way it is written it seems that you could disembark the unit from the table edge before you begin the normal movement.
What about that text suggests that the unit could disembark before movement?
The Reserves rules specify that you have to declare the organisation of units in reserve and how they are going to arrive. There is no option given in the standard rules to change your mind when they actually arrive. If you declared that they were in the transport, then they arrive in the transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/04 08:44:28
Subject: Vehicles and Troops in Reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ender6 wrote:because of the way it is written it seems that you could disembark the unit from the table edge before you begin the normal movement.
Well you could, but you need to be place within 2" of the base of the Storm Raven.....which isn't on the board so you have no where to disembark so they would just be destroyed.
IE There is no legal way for you to disembark as the storm raven is the table.
How could just move the storm raven completely onto the table then disembark.
|
|
 |
 |
|