Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 16:47:24
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Here's a question. I've checked the rules on this and from my understanding I can do what I am asking.
P67 says a unit which fired at a enemy transport can assault the enemy unit inside if the transport is destroyed. The rules do not mention who destroyed the transport, as long as it was destroyed, and the unit which is going the assault previously fired at the transport.
The rules say "However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit which shot it may assault the disembarked passengers". That rule doesn't say who is destroying the transport, just says as long as a unit which shot at the transport may assault.
So with that reference here is my question and example.
Unit A fires at a transport and fails to pop it. Unit B fires at the transport and pops it. Can unit A assault the enemy unit which just disembarked because unit A did shoot at the transport.
Thanks!
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:07:33
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. As the rules are worded only the unit that popped the transport would be permitted to charge the now disembarked squad.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:07:58
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
In your quote, you post "...the unit which shot it may assault the disembarked passengers." The first part of the quote also seems to imply that the destruction of the vehicle has been caused by the squad intending to assault.
Without the relevant rules from before and after what you quoted, its hard to give a definitive response (rulebook not handy).
Based on what you posted, and what I've seen played, the squad would have had to destroy the transport, thus forcing the disembark, to be able to assault the contents.
|
Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013
"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:14:03
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
I have quoted the full sentence. It just says before that a squad cannot fire the lascannon, blow up the tank and then mow down the occupants with bolters.
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:21:30
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot
|
I can see how this can become confusing....here it is in my understanding;
Squad A shoot the transport but don't destroy it
Squad B shoot the transport and do destroy it
Squad C were going to shoot but transport got destroyed first
Squad A can't assault it because they didn't destroy it
Squad B can assault if they didn't fire rapid fire or heavy weapons (and if they're in range which they probably wont be because of difficult terrain or squad disembarking far away)
Squad C can assault as long as they don't fire on any other targets and are in range.
|
Stick to the shadows - Strike from the darkness - Victorus aut Mortis - Ravenguard 1st Company |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:51:30
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
s.j.mccartney wrote:Squad C were going to shoot but transport got destroyed first
Squad A can't assault it because they didn't destroy it
Squad B can assault if they didn't fire rapid fire or heavy weapons (and if they're in range which they probably wont be because of difficult terrain or squad disembarking far away)
Squad C can assault as long as they don't fire on any other targets and are in range.
Squad A: correct.
Squad B: correct, though like you said, they need to be in range as well.
Squad C: partially correct. You resolve shooting on a unit by unit basis. So Squad A shoots at tank, fails to pop. Squad B shoots at tank, pops the tank. Squad C can then shoot the occupants and if close enough assault them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 17:59:27
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
My own opinion is that yes they can assault the unit.
"Note: remember that all models in a single unit fire
simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport
with its lascannon and then mow down the occupants
with their bolters. However, if a transport is destroyed
(either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it
may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is
allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
The normal assault rules allow you to assault the unit you shot at as long as there are no other rules preventing you from doing so (rapid fire, out of range etc.)
Squad A fire at the transport but fail to destroy it.
Squad B fire at the transport and destroy it.
Squad A and B fired at exactly the same unit....
Still that's how I read it as I cannot see anything explictily preventing Squad A from charging, just a line allowing Squad B to do so.
I may be wrong (and don't ask my wife, she always says I'm wrong)
|
More than 7pts, less than 7000...just
4000+ 2500 2000+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 18:08:07
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
This question is quite common. A quick search will find you a half dozen or more discussions on the matter and the answer is as always if you fired at the transport and did not pop it then you may not charge the occupants even if another unit does pop the transport.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 18:13:43
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Hell, I've been out of the game for years and have yet to play under 5th editon rules, what do I know!
Kick me back into the cupboard under the stairs and don't wake me up again for a month
|
More than 7pts, less than 7000...just
4000+ 2500 2000+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 20:00:49
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Boggy79 wrote:My own opinion is that yes they can assault the unit.
"Note: remember that all models in a single unit fire
simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport
with its lascannon and then mow down the occupants
with their bolters. However, if a transport is destroyed
(either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it
may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is
allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
The normal assault rules allow you to assault the unit you shot at as long as there are no other rules preventing you from doing so (rapid fire, out of range etc.)
Squad A fire at the transport but fail to destroy it.
Squad B fire at the transport and destroy it.
Squad A and B fired at exactly the same unit....
Still that's how I read it as I cannot see anything explictily preventing Squad A from charging, just a line allowing Squad B to do so.
I may be wrong (and don't ask my wife, she always says I'm wrong)
RAW, I agree... unless "shot it" means destroyed... but I acknowledge that this is not the standard interpretation. INAT doesn't address this, so they must find it cut and dry too.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 20:08:45
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Boggy79 wrote:Still that's how I read it as I cannot see anything explictily preventing Squad A from charging, just a line allowing Squad B to do so.
What's preventing Squad A from assaulting is the fact that the unit they shot at is no longer a valid assault target.
Squad B is given explicit permission to charge something other than the unit they shot, because they are the unit that destroyed the vehicle. Squad A is not.
Within the context of the complete rule as written, 'the unit that shot it' is the unit that caused the vehicle to be destroyed. Not just any unit that shot at the vehicle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:18:20
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
But the rule quoted does not say, the unit that destroyed it is the only one allowed to assault. In fact the only rule is if you shot the transport then you are allowed to assault the passengers if the transport was destroyed. Nothing says when the Transport must be destroyed, only...
a. Did unit shoot at transport?
b. Was the Transport destroyed?
If the answer to both questions is Yes, then the unit may assault the passengers. Nothice the question of who destoryed the transport is never asked.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:21:23
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
No.
insaniak explained it well.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:24:12
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
kirsanth wrote:No.
insaniak explained it well.
I disagree.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:35:10
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Boggy79 wrote:However, if a transport is destroyed
(either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it
may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is
allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
jbunny wrote:kirsanth wrote:No.
insaniak explained it well.
I disagree.
I trimmed the quote down to the relevant line. "the unit" can only mean the one that destroyed it, not any unit that shot at the transport.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:35:16
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
As weird as it is, Insaniak is correct.
The vehicle and the unit inside are two separate units.
There is a specific provision for the unit that destroys the vehicle that allows it to assault the contents. Anything else that shot at, but did not destroy, the vehicle fired on the unit consisting of the transport and not the unit that was inside, thus it cannot assault the unit since that is not the unit that it fired upon in the shooting phase.
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:40:26
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
rigeld2 wrote:Boggy79 wrote:However, if a transport is destroyed
(either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it
may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is
allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
jbunny wrote:kirsanth wrote:No.
insaniak explained it well.
I disagree.
I trimmed the quote down to the relevant line. "the unit" can only mean the one that destroyed it, not any unit that shot at the transport.
I don't see why that is the only way of reading it. If it said, the unit that destroyed it, then I would agree with you.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:48:07
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
It does by saying 'the unit' instead of 'any unit'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 22:49:44
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It is the only way to read it because the singular usage of "the unit" as opposed to something like "any unit."
The sentence gives ONE unit permission to assault a different unit than it shot.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/05 23:06:12
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
However, if a transport is destroyed
(either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it
may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is
allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
jbunny wrote:I don't see why that is the only way of reading it. If it said, the unit that destroyed it, then I would agree with you.
Because the first part of the rule is "...if a transport is destroyed by a ranged attack..."
If a unit shoots the transport and does not destroy it, then the transport has not been destroyed by a ranged attack. So the unit that shot it (but failed to destroy it) cannot assault the passengers because they have not been forced to disembark, they are still in the transport.
If the next unit shoots at the transport and now does destroy it by a ranged attack, then the passengers must immediately disembark. The unit that caused the transport to be destroyed may assault the now disembarked passengers.
Only the particular unit that destroyed the transport by a ranged attack can now assault a unit other than the one it fired at.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 02:19:43
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
jbunny wrote:But the rule quoted does not say, the unit that destroyed it is the only one allowed to assault.
Because that unit isn't the only one allowed to assault the disembarked unit.
However, any unit that shot at the transport and didn't destroy it is not given permission to charge anything else.
In fact the only rule is if you shot the transport then you are allowed to assault the passengers if the transport was destroyed.
That's not what it says.
It says that if the transport is destroyed, the unit that shot it can assault the passengers.
In that context 'the unit' is the unit that fired the shot that destroyed the transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 21:19:41
Subject: Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Okay this is pretty obvious... The transport and the unit inside are two different units. If we omit the rule in question for a second, you would NEVER be able to assault a unit that came out of a destroyed transport if you shot at the transport. You must assault the unit you shot at (unless you have a rule stating explicitly otherwise). Thus, you must assault the transport if you shot at the transport (or not assault at all). Now if we put that rule back in it is clearly an exception granting the unit that DESTROYS the vehicle the ability to assault the contents. Everything else that shot at the vehicle does not gain this exception (since they have to destroy the vehicle to gain it), and as such their only valid target of assault is the vehicle (which is no longer present). Ergo, only the unit that destroys the vehicle may assault the contents. It's as simple as that :/
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/06 21:20:26
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/07 01:49:32
Subject: Re:Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I would agree with the above posters. I personally feel (and have seen this played in more than a few different game shops) that the wording on the rule (pg 67) of the rulebook is simply clarifying the available actions of the troop (Unit A in the below example) that shot the vehicle.
Ex:
Unit A shoots all of its guns at the Rhino, destroying it. However, as ALL their guns went off simultaneously, then they can't declare that any of their shots are going against the troops disembarking the vehicle. Their only remaining action would be that it is NOW legal for them to assault the disembarking troops. (This is to declare that while the Rhino and its embarked troops are normally separate units, in cases like this, they are able to be assaulted by the unit that destroyed their transport.)
Units can only assault targets that they shoot at in the Shooting phase.
However, not all units actually Shoot. Assault Terminators, 65% of the Chaos Daemon Codex, Sisters Repentia, etc.
EX.
Unit A (Assault Marines), Unit B (Assault Terminators) and Unit C (Scout Squad) all move into Assault range of an enemy Rhino. Units A and C both shoot at the Rhino, with Unit A destroying the Rhino. The enemy troops disembark the burning wreck.
Unit A can now assault those disembarking troops because they destroyed the vehicle. Unit C can't. They didn't succeed to destroy it and their only legal assault target is the flaming wreck. However, Unit B, the Assault Terminators CAN still assault the disembarked troops because they didn't shoot, thereby eliminating their target selection.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
By shooting at the Rhino, Units A and C committed themselves to an action, with Unit B having no shooting phase, they aren't locked onto the Rhino. They are able to pick their target as normal during the assault phase. In this case, it is the now disembarked troops.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/09 00:14:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/07 01:54:16
Subject: Re:Assault a enemy unit after destroying a transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
PoetNWar wrote:I would disagree to the above posters.
Really? Because you seem to be agreeing with most of them...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|