Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 00:27:25
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi. I am veeeeery casual WH40K player, usually 7-8 times a year and I really don't know why  I would like to ask though: Can I have a unit of 30 ork boys buy a trukk as a dedicated transport then use it for some other unit, by deploying the trukk near the intended unit, for instance 10 lootas? Or am I only able to get a trukk in my list only if I have a mob of an eligible number of boys to enter it?
Thanks in advance, hope I was clear enough, as my English isn't that awesome
|
2500 2500 - :skaven: 3500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 00:39:33
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. The army list entry (in the English codex at least) makes it clear that you may only take a Trukk if the Boyz Mob numbers 12 models or less.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 00:41:14
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
kaisharga wrote:Hi. I am veeeeery casual WH40K player, usually 7-8 times a year and I really don't know why  I would like to ask though: Can I have a unit of 30 ork boys buy a trukk as a dedicated transport then use it for some other unit, by deploying the trukk near the intended unit, for instance 10 lootas? Or am I only able to get a trukk in my list only if I have a mob of an eligible number of boys to enter it?
Thanks in advance, hope I was clear enough, as my English isn't that awesome 
No, unfortunately, per the Ork codex, a unit must be 12 or less to add a Trukk.
|
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 02:25:52
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
And Ghaz Wins!
(But why did the IG decide to make Ghaz a Lieutenant Colonel?)
|
Azrinae Chapter - 7300 pts
Eldar - 2250 pts
Necron - 1500 pts
DT:80S++G+MB++IPw40k11+++D+A++/areWD382R++TDM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 02:34:07
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
More generally, each codex states whether there is a restriction on the size of the unit which can take a given transport. Some codices have such a restriction, others don't.
If you do take a transport, though, other units can get into it during the game, as long as they fit the restrictions (size, unit type) on what kind of units can embark in that transport.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 02:39:42
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Like everyone has said you can only purchase it for a squad 12 boys and under.
The others have not answered the second part of your question.
A. Yes you can have another unit use it if you do so wish.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 10:42:26
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Perth Australia
|
I'm pretty sure it says somewhere in the rule book that a unit with a dedicated transport must be deployed in it. so if you had more than 12 boyz that wouldnt be possible based on that either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 10:43:37
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stooge wrote:I'm pretty sure it says somewhere in the rule book that a unit with a dedicated transport must be deployed in it. so if you had more than 12 boyz that wouldnt be possible based on that either.
Nope. Not required to start in a dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 10:44:15
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Nowhere does it say that a unit has to start in their dedicated transports (excepts nids). It does say, that only the unit that bought the transport can start in it.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 11:48:47
Subject: Re:Trukk question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks a lot for your clarifications. Crystal clear!
|
2500 2500 - :skaven: 3500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 12:18:23
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Also, a trukk only moves 18 inches unless it has a RPJ. I dont know why but I thought Trukks moved 24 inches.
|
A man's character is his fate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/06 13:21:42
Subject: Trukk question
|
 |
Squishy Squig
Peru
|
kaiservonhugal wrote:Also, a trukk only moves 18 inches unless it has a RPJ. I dont know why but I thought Trukks moved 24 inches.
Tha was on the previous edition of the game, where fast vehicles move up to 24", now only fast "gravitic' vehicles move up to 24", the rest of the fast category can move a maximun of 18"...
|
|
 |
 |
|