Switch Theme:

Can a CCO give orders to an artillery unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If I'm fielding a Death Korps of Krieg list and I include a unit of thudd guns, can my CCO issue orders to them?

Thanks for the help.

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I thought they could only issue orders to Guard infantry units? I could very well be wrong, cant find Guard dex right now, and guessing the DKoK update uses the basic guard Orders rules...
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

nosferatu1001 wrote:I thought they could only issue orders to Guard infantry units? I could very well be wrong, cant find Guard dex right now, and guessing the DKoK update uses the basic guard Orders rules...

Checked the guard 'dex. It says "friendly non-vehicle unit".

So, this all comes down to the question: Are artillery units "non-vehicle" units?

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Good question, they consist of infantry and guns (which count as vehicles with AV 10 all around).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They arent a vehicle unit, they are an Artillery unit.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Artillery are a seperate unit type. Thus I would say you can issue orders to them.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Thanks guys -- the whole part about the gun being a vehicle was what was making me question whether or not you can issue orders to the unit. but since they're their own unit type, I guess it's ok.

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





What order are you thinking of giving them?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

My guess would be Fire on my Target or Bring it Down. Both could be pretty nasty on an artillery piece.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle




England

Grey Templar wrote:Artillery are a seperate unit type. Thus I would say you can issue orders to them.

Yeah, absolutely - there's no reason to assume otherwise.

Did you know? The Reach belongs to the Forsworn. 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

I was wondering this exact same thing. The example I had in mind was giving a unit of rapier laser destroyers the fire on my target order. They then become one of the best AT units in the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/08 01:11:42


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in ca
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Canada

Trickstick wrote:I was wondering this exact same thing. The example I had in mind was giving a unit of rapier laser destroyers the fire on my target order. They then become one of the best AT units in the game.


It would be nice if they didn't leave Elysians out of haivng them... deep striking rapier laser destroyers!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: