Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 17:55:11
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Los Angeles
|
Hello Dakka, maybe im just blind cause i cant find this in the RB but is JoWW affected by night-fighting or is it like a flamer template in that it is not affected by night-fighting. if it is or isnt, can someone point out to me where in the brb it can be proven?
Thanks in advance for any help!
|
Excellence is not an achievement, its a habit. We are what we continually do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 18:06:34
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
As far as I know it draws a line... That's a template and since joww doesn't require los or range to start the power it shouldn't be affected by night fighting.
I haven't looked at the powers wording in a while though so that might be inaccurate.
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 18:07:05
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It requires a target, so you can definitely argue that NF applies.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 18:08:31
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Just out of curiosity, where does it say templates are not affected by night fighting? I know you can still fire barrage/ordnance barrage in the dark but they scatter an extra d6 on a miss.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 18:15:23
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Shepherd
|
joww does need line of sight and rolls to hit vs the first model in the line. The most recent rulebook faq saw to that so night fight affects any shooting power.
|
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 18:15:45
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
WanderingFox wrote:As far as I know it draws a line... That's a template and since joww doesn't require los or range to start the power it shouldn't be affected by night fighting.
I haven't looked at the powers wording in a while though so that might be inaccurate.
JotWW is absolutely not a template - the word "template" has a specific distinction in the rules and that is the flamer template. JotWW doesn't use that.
just clarifying.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 19:08:29
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
i meant as in the type of weapon hit method, not specifically as a flamer template. I suppose that was a bit confusing, but I was referring to the property of all blast/template weapons that they automatically hit anything under them. And as far as I was aware joww was phrased "extend a line 24in out which can pass through area terrain" which means it does not need line of sight, nor do you need to hit a target since it automaticlly hits everything under the line. That said, looking at a buddy of mine's codex it entirely validates this. Joww does NOT roll to hit. It says, specifically "models that are touched by the line" nor does it require a model target for the line. It simply states "extend a straight line starting from the rune priest and ending 24in away" However, the SW FAQ as I understand it has ret-conned this so that the first model hit must be in line of sight of the rune priest. Personally that doesn't make sense, but thats what the FAQ says. Given that, you'd test night fighting to see if you can see your initial target. If not, then the power doesn't go off (As per normal night fighting), otherwise it would function as normal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/08 19:09:51
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 19:16:55
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Shepherd
|
Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of
sight? Does it ignore terrain that blocks line of
sight (i.e., impassible terrain)?
A. As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World
Wolf requires line of sight. The Rune Priest must
have line of sight to the first model that the
power affects – in effect he is treated as the target
model; the power just happens to hit everybody
else on its way through!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/08 19:18:28
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 19:18:03
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
edit: the post I quoted was edited, so I'll clean this up.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/08 19:21:28
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 19:18:49
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Shepherd
|
rigeld2 wrote:Draigo wrote:Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting
attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a
ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP
value) and any psychic power that specifically states
that it is a psychic shooting attack.
joww has range.
Range by itself is not sufficient to label a PSA. JotWW states that it is a PSA, however, so it is a PSA.
I coped the wrong thing and edited my statement.
|
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 19:25:33
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
joww does not have a range. Nor does it have a strength or AP. It doesn't even cause wounds for that matter.
it functions like a flamer template. It states that it 'extends a line'
If the enemy model targeted is 1in away from the priest and you roll 12 inches for night fighting the line does NOT stop 12 inches out. It always extends the full 24.
While you are correct that the FAQ entries require you to hit and have line of sight on the first model, it does not reduce the length of the line.
All night fighting does is discern if you can spot the target.
See the same FAQ entry that dictates that the rest of the models are hit automatically.
The only restriction night fighting applies is that the first model must be within the 2d6 * 3 roll.
You draw a 24in line, determine first model hit, see if it is within night fighting, if so all models along the 24in line are hit. If not, the power does not go off as per PSA and night fighting rules.
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 20:00:10
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Shepherd
|
You are gettin awful worked up considering I just posted the official deal for needing los etc for the first model of the power not the rest of the line. So take a deep breath and curb some of that nerdrage.
|
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/08 20:02:46
Subject: JoWW and Nightfighting.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Not worked up at all
Tone does not travel over to text very well... Just clarifying the rules. In fact after reading the FAQ you're correct, which I believe I stated in my previous post.
Perhaps i should have included more smiley faces or something...
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
|