Switch Theme:

Moving Under Skimmers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Here is the situation i am thinking about. A wave serpent has its access point on the rear of the model. At the start of the Eldar player turn, the Eldar player deploys banshees/scorpions/warlocks from the back of the skimmer. They want to move and assault a target in from of the skimmer.

Here is the question. Does the skimmers footprint on the board, in regard to the rule below, apply to just the flying base, or the entire hull?
It looks like you cannot move under your own serpent , but I just want to make sure i'm misisng anything.
A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model (which is represented by its base or by its hull) -- BRB p11

Unlike other vehicles, skimmers have transparent ‘flying bases’ under their hull. As normal for vehicles, distances are measured to and from the skimmer’s hull, with the exceptions of the vehicle’s weapons, access points and fire points, which all work as normal. The skimmer’s base is effectively ignored, except when assaulting a skimmer, in which case models may move into contact with the vehicle’s hull, its base or both -- BRB p71


   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






If the models can fit, they can move there. The vehicle only takes up the space defined by its hull/base, i.e. the physical dimensions of the model.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Right, but he wants to move under the skimmer. Most skimmers aren't high enough for a model to move underneath.

I'm not sure the rules allow that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






And I answered it.

They can move there if they can fit. You can't move your model into the physical space of another unit. Which consequently means you can only move under if the model fits under.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

I would say if he wants to move under his model (counting the base as the footprint) then i would insist on a few qualifiers:
1. the model must be pinned high enough up that the troops can fit under it.
2. That height would be standard...no cover saves based on true LoS (if he's modelling for the advantage he takes the disadvantage along with it).
3. Since the skimmer is high enough for him to move under it, it provides no cover for units trying to hide "behind" it.
4. If he deploys out of the vehicle, he can only count the base as his point of exit; that is, he loses the extra few inches of free charge range from jumping out of the front of the hull.

In short, he has to decide which way he is going to play his models...base or hull.

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

Dracos is right. If you fit there you can move there. Consider disembarking from a valkyrie/vendetta/stormraven/razorwing. You litterally disembark under the model. Since there are no "flyer" rules in normal 40K they are treated the same as a wave serpent, raider, or devilfish.

d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Dracos wrote:And I answered it.

They can move there if they can fit. You can't move your model into the physical space of another unit. Which consequently means you can only move under if the model fits under.
In order to help prevent problems a tourney I am attending this weekend, can you illustrate the rules that specifies this.

As serpents come with two flying bases -- one high and one lower, its very easy for a squad inside to run under the serpent with no problems. This gives a distinct advantage to models that I want to assault out of it.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rules specify the opposite; they tell you where you cant place models
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






Exactly. The rules are not going to go over every possible position the models can get into. They tell you they can move, and then give some restrictions such as impassible terrain/other models. Under a skimmer is not one of the restrictions given.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Ok, thanks then. I appreciate the response.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: