Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 20:52:56
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
So, I was researching this Necron Dimensional Corridor ability, and i was stuck by two things, one that is stated and I have always overlooked, and one that is not stated on pg 67, Disembarking.
1. Emergency Disemarkation: pg 67 says a unit that is forced to Emergency Disembark can't do anything else for the rest of the turn. This is separate and not he same as being Pinned, pg 31. I take this to mean voluntary. So, if I wreck a transport, and then assault the unit that was inside, they have to involuntarily pile-in and fight me. If they have any VOLUNTARY actions that they are normally allowed to use during or before an assault, such as casting Psychic abilities, are they allowed to do so? Please give at least reference pages or FAQ quotes, and not, "No, they can cast Psychic powers."
2. I cannot find anywhere stating that a unit that disembarks before a vehicle moves counts as having moved, such as for the use of Heavy Weapons. Thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:12:03
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Manhunter
|
What are the stats for Dimensional Corridor?
Also, I checked, and I can also not find anything on HW and disembarking. So sorry I can't help there, unless you can indeed fire if the transport moves.
I checked out both the HW and Disembarking sections in the rulebook, BTW.
|
Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.
"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:16:03
Subject: Re:Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
1. The rule actually says if they emergency disembak, they can't do anything else the rest of the turn. This means they could not shoot or run in the Shooting phase, and they cannot perform an assault in the Assault phase.
However, if they are assaulted, they can react as normal.
2. Second bullet point under disembarking on page 67, if the vehicle didn't move, the passengers can disembark and move and assault as normal. They can also shoot, but count as moving, so no heavy weapons unless they're relentless.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 21:16:46
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:18:09
Subject: Re:Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I checked in my little red book. Pg 67, Disembarking, 2nd bulletpoint. 3rd sentence states "The disembarked models may shoot (Counting as moving), and may assault as normal.
So unless you have a rule to allow you to fire on the move, ie Relentless, you cannot fire heavy weapons upon disembarking.
|
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:25:37
Subject: Re:Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
time wizard wrote:However, if they are assaulted, they can react as normal.
I know I have read this before, but where does it say it?
Thanks for the Heavy Weapons clarification.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 21:26:00
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:28:15
Subject: Re:Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Manhunter
|
BlapBlapBlap wrote:I checked in my little red book. Pg 67, Disembarking, 2nd bulletpoint. 3rd sentence states "The disembarked models may shoot (Counting as moving), and may assault as normal.
So unless you have a rule to allow you to fire on the move, ie Relentless, you cannot fire heavy weapons upon disembarking.
Well, that means that I was skimming again...oh well.
Still, what does Dimensional Corridor do?
|
Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.
"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 21:31:49
Subject: Re:Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Ghenghis Jon wrote: time wizard wrote:However, if they are assaulted, they can react as normal.
I know I have read this before, but where does it say it?
In the latest main rulebook errata and FAQ:
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means that they can perform no voluntary actions.
Any action forced upon them, for example from failing
a Morale or Pinning test, they will still carry out and if
assaulted they will fight as normal.
Ghenghis Jon wrote: Thanks for the Heavy Weapons clarification.
My pleasure!
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 23:24:41
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ghenghis Jon wrote:So, I was researching this Necron Dimensional Corridor ability, and i was stuck by two things, one that is stated and I have always overlooked, and one that is not stated on pg 67, Disembarking.
1. Emergency Disemarkation: pg 67 says a unit that is forced to Emergency Disembark can't do anything else for the rest of the turn. This is separate and not he same as being Pinned, pg 31. I take this to mean voluntary. So, if I wreck a transport, and then assault the unit that was inside, they have to involuntarily pile-in and fight me. If they have any VOLUNTARY actions that they are normally allowed to use during or before an assault, such as casting Psychic abilities, are they allowed to do so? Please give at least reference pages or FAQ quotes, and not, "No, they can cast Psychic powers."
2. I cannot find anywhere stating that a unit that disembarks before a vehicle moves counts as having moved, such as for the use of Heavy Weapons. Thoughts?
How does this apply to Dimensional Corridor? The monolith isn't a transport. The wording of Dimensional Corridor disallows emergency disembark. And you always count as moving when disembarking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 23:33:29
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
I was just researching it and came across these two things. That is why the title of the forum is about Disembarking and not Dimensional Corridors.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 23:44:58
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Nungunz wrote: How does this apply to Dimensional Corridor? The monolith isn't a transport.
It isn't a dedicated transport. But is can be used to "transport" models from one point to another albeit via "phasing out" and 'disembarking' from the portal.
Nungunz wrote:The wording of Dimensional Corridor disallows emergency disembark.
That remains to be seen. It says the unit phases out "...and 'disembarks' from the Monolith's portal."
It then says "Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties..." which would make one think that the unit can emergency disembark, but the way it is worded it could also be argued that the unit can only disembark from the portal.
Nungunz wrote:And you always count as moving when disembarking.
You only count as moving for shooting when you disembark from a stationary transport.
If the transport did not move you can still move and assault.
But since 'disembarking' from the Monolith's portal is treated just like disembarking from a vehicle that moved at combat speed, a necron unit that arrives this way (through the portal) would not be allowed to move any further that Movement phase and would not be allowed to assault that turn.
{EDIT} and apologies for going off topic.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 23:45:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 00:37:23
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You can't 'Emergency Disembark' from a Monolith because the unit is never 'in' the Monolith in the first place. They go straight from where they were (be it on the table or in reserve) to being disembarked by way of the dimensional corridor.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 01:15:55
Subject: Disembarkng Questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Ghaz wrote:You can't 'Emergency Disembark' from a Monolith because the unit is never 'in' the Monolith in the first place. They go straight from where they were (be it on the table or in reserve) to being disembarked by way of the dimensional corridor.
Which I guess would explain why it is printed as 'disembark' in the codex with the quote marks.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
|