Switch Theme:

Question about the Chronometron  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Oklahoma City

My buddy and I are in a game right now, so the question is a bit time sensitive. The rules for the Chronometron state "if the bearer is in a unit, this ability can be used to instead reroll one of the unit's d6 rolls per phase."

Here's the situation: A unit of Immortal Warriors fires tesla blasters at a unit of Hive Guard. He rolls very poorly on the "to-wound" rolls, and decides to use the Chronometron to give himself another chance to wound. Here's the question. He seems to believe the wording of the rule means he can choose to reroll ALL of the dice in the unit as opposed to a single d6. Which is it? All of the d6 "To-Wound" dice (as it's one unit's d6 rolls) or is it a single failed "to-wound"?

Zarry


"There is one rule, above all others, for a man. Whatever comes, face it on your feet." -- al'Lan Mandragoran 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






Only one dice. He cant reroll all of them.

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

One d6 roll. Since it's the shooting phase on your own turn, you may as well use it to re-roll one failed wound, but you don't get all of them.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ONE of the units D6 rolls is pretty clear.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

My local TO says it can only apply to unit-based rolls, such as deep strike, ld tests, fall back moves, reserve rolls, and so on. I'm not sure what he'd say aobut this rather imprudent reasoning, but he may very well say yes given his other ruling.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




All dice can be rerolled from a move through difficult terrain to a vehicle damage result.

Reserve dice however may not be rerolled as chronometron is not in game at the time.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





copper.talos wrote:All dice can be rerolled from a move through difficult terrain to a vehicle damage result.

All single d6 rolls. Because a Leadership test (for example) is a 2d6 roll, not a d6 roll (which is what the Chrono allows) and the rules require all dice in a test to be rerolled (page 2).

You could re-roll a single d6 from a group of wound rolls, but not all N of them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Kitzz wrote:My local TO says it can only apply to unit-based rolls, such as deep strike, ld tests, fall back moves, reserve rolls, and so on. I'm not sure what he'd say aobut this rather imprudent reasoning, but he may very well say yes given his other ruling.


Your local TO should read the BRB.

You cannot re-roll a deep strike scatter, as it requires 2D6. The Chronometron only allows you to re-roll a single D6. The BRB says that re-rolls must have all included D6s re-rolled, thus you cannot use the Chronometron on a deep strike scatter. Or a leadership test, for that matter.

I hope a FAQ proves me wrong, therefore making the Chronometron the greatest piece of wargear ever. But it won't.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: