Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 19:28:49
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
If you win the dice toss originally to see who is allowed to deploy first, can you choose to deploy second but move turn 1 first?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 19:31:03
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Generally, no - unless you steal the initiative.
Most scenarios specify that the same person does both first.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 19:35:57
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
kirsanth wrote:Generally, no - unless you steal the initiative.
Most scenarios specify that the same person does both first.
Thanks, is this covered anywhere in the rules?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 19:40:14
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, in the rules for the scenarios, as you'd expect.
The player who chooses sides deploys and will usually go first; the opponent can try to seize the initiative, usually on a 6+, in which case THEY go first
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:23:16
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Pages 92-93, main rules.
Generally, if playing a non-standard mission it is listed in the Deployment details.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:26:00
Subject: Re:Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Thanks everyone! I have another question that maybe you all could help me with. I'm looking at taking Runes of Warding on my Farseer for the game tonight and I was reading over the rules. It doesn't say whether or not the power actually happens, just that they fail perils of the warp if they get 12+ with 3D6. I imagine that the power would NOT happen along with allocating a wound if they fail Runes of Warding test, is this correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:27:47
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
RoW just modifies the normal Psychic test - so yes, if they fail that test the power does not go off.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:29:34
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
For the power to succeed the psychic test must succeed on the psychic test - now taken on 3d6. The fact that perils occurs on 12+ is because the normal rules say on a 12 (or a 2 which is now impossible to roll). Since 3d6 can pass 12, it is covering a technicality.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/14 20:30:21
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:35:02
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
kirsanth wrote:For the power to succeed the psychic test must succeed on the psychic test - now taken on 3d6.
The fact that perils occurs on 12+ is because the normal rules say on a 12 (or a 2 which is now impossible to roll). Since 3d6 can pass 12, it is covering a technicality.
Perils actually says that it happens on double 1s or 6s. It doesn't say it happens on a 2 or 12.
So, against RoWarding, you suffer perils if:
A) You roll 2 "1"s and anything else
B) You roll 2 "6"s and anything else
C) You roll greater than 12
Most players assume you can only suffer a single Perils attack per Psychic test. The rules don't actually limit the number of Perils anywhere, so you would suffer 2 Perils if you rolled 6, 6, anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:37:28
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Fair enough, and better said.
As someone else stated previously:
Grakmar is technically correct.
Which is the best kind of correct!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 20:44:55
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I disagree Grakmar, normally you take PotW on double 1's or 6's. RoWard changes it to 12+ on 3d6. SitW specifically states 3d6 with PotW on any double 1's or 6's. 2 abilities that require a 3d6 roll, but with two different results for forcing PotW.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/14 20:45:18
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 21:39:47
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Grakmar wrote:kirsanth wrote:For the power to succeed the psychic test must succeed on the psychic test - now taken on 3d6.
The fact that perils occurs on 12+ is because the normal rules say on a 12 (or a 2 which is now impossible to roll). Since 3d6 can pass 12, it is covering a technicality.
Perils actually says that it happens on double 1s or 6s. It doesn't say it happens on a 2 or 12.
So, against RoWarding, you suffer perils if:
A) You roll 2 "1"s and anything else
B) You roll 2 "6"s and anything else
C) You roll greater than 12
Most players assume you can only suffer a single Perils attack per Psychic test. The rules don't actually limit the number of Perils anywhere, so you would suffer 2 Perils if you rolled 6, 6, anything.
So, if you roll trip-six do you suffer 4 perils?
Assume die A, B & C, all come up six. So you have a double six with AB, AC, BC, and then also greater than 12.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/14 21:40:32
- 3000
- 145 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 21:44:35
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Shrike325 wrote:Grakmar wrote:kirsanth wrote:For the power to succeed the psychic test must succeed on the psychic test - now taken on 3d6.
The fact that perils occurs on 12+ is because the normal rules say on a 12 (or a 2 which is now impossible to roll). Since 3d6 can pass 12, it is covering a technicality.
Perils actually says that it happens on double 1s or 6s. It doesn't say it happens on a 2 or 12.
So, against RoWarding, you suffer perils if:
A) You roll 2 "1"s and anything else
B) You roll 2 "6"s and anything else
C) You roll greater than 12
Most players assume you can only suffer a single Perils attack per Psychic test. The rules don't actually limit the number of Perils anywhere, so you would suffer 2 Perils if you rolled 6, 6, anything.
So, if you roll trip-six do you suffer 4 perils?
Assume die A, B & C, all come up six. So you have a double six with AB, AC, BC, and then also greater than 12.
I don't see it stacking like that. You have ONE PAIR of double 6's, and than the last one gets added on. The pairs cannot share a dice, and as such the max would be 2 wounds.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 22:45:25
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Shrike325 wrote:Grakmar wrote:kirsanth wrote:For the power to succeed the psychic test must succeed on the psychic test - now taken on 3d6.
The fact that perils occurs on 12+ is because the normal rules say on a 12 (or a 2 which is now impossible to roll). Since 3d6 can pass 12, it is covering a technicality.
Perils actually says that it happens on double 1s or 6s. It doesn't say it happens on a 2 or 12.
So, against RoWarding, you suffer perils if:
A) You roll 2 "1"s and anything else
B) You roll 2 "6"s and anything else
C) You roll greater than 12
Most players assume you can only suffer a single Perils attack per Psychic test. The rules don't actually limit the number of Perils anywhere, so you would suffer 2 Perils if you rolled 6, 6, anything.
So, if you roll trip-six do you suffer 4 perils?
Assume die A, B & C, all come up six. So you have a double six with AB, AC, BC, and then also greater than 12.
No, you suffer perils if you roll a pair, not a perils per pair.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 22:49:57
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You suffer A perils and A perils only
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 23:45:49
Subject: Re:Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
Yeah, perils is a result of failing a test, and you can only fail a test once per attempt. You can't fail the same test four times without taking it four times. EDIT: spelling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/14 23:46:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 23:49:36
Subject: Re:Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
So this cannot inflict two wounds like originally said?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/14 23:51:20
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It is as Grakmar stated, most everyone agrees 1.
There are ways to read it as two, but that gets rather strange too fast and I have never seen it played that way.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 00:05:45
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
kirsanth wrote:It is as Grakmar stated, most everyone agrees 1.
There are ways to read it as two, but that gets rather strange too fast and I have never seen it played that way.
Wasn't Grakmar the one that originally said 2? '>.>
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 02:13:29
Subject: Re:Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
I dunno who originally said it, but this is as clear as I can make it:
If you take 1 psychic test and fail, you only take 1 wound. You can never take more wounds than the number of psychic tests, no matter how bad you fail the test. (unless some ability specifically modifies this, but I cannot think of any abilities that would)
Example: My psyker tries to use a power, and his Ld is 10 I roll 3D6 and get 6, 6 & 6. I have failed as hard as possible. My psyker will only take a single wound to the Perils of the Warp.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 02:50:34
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
However, had you rolled 1,1,1 you would NOT have suffered PotW. If you were up against 'Nids on the other hand, you would suffer one.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 03:01:50
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1,1,1 you DO suffer Perils. You suffer Perils on any double 1 or double 6. This is independent of whether the power works, BTW. If you roll double 1 the power still goes off but you eat Perils.
Runes of Warding make the model take their normal test on 3d6, AND make it so that on a total roll of 12 or more they also eat Perils. That's in addition to normally incurring it on any double 1 or double 6.
An Eldar Farseer with Runes of Witnessing (roll 3d6 drop the highest) actually slightly increases his odds of Perils too; because he substantially increases the chances of getting two 1s on those three dice, since he is forced to drop the highest. This resulted in my killing my own Farseer a bunch of times back in 4th ed, when it was a S6 hit instead of a simple wound, so it caused Instant Death on non-Eldrad Farseers if they failed their Ghosthelm roll and failed their Invulnerable save. Memorably, this happened to me on turn one of ALL THREE games in one local League finals.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 03:04:34
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
My question then is why for SitW does it specifically state that you take PotW for "any roll of double 1's or 6's"? My understanding is that for RoWa you only suffer perils on 12+.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 03:15:46
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Because for SitW you're rolling 3d6. I believe they say that on "any" double 1 or double 6 you suffer Perils to make clear that it doesn't have to be all three dice (triples); but that any two will do.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 03:25:58
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Right, SitW and RoW both require rolling 3d6, yet they both specify different things causing PotW. One is any double 1's or 6's and the other is 12+
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 03:34:42
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Runes of Warding say that rolls of 12+ cause Perils, but they don't say ONLY rolls of 12+ cause Perils. Nothing in the phrasing states or implies that normal Perils are negated.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 04:12:48
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
After re-reading the FAQ for Eldar (concerning RoWarding vs RoWitnessing) I must concede defeat, and tip my hat to you sir.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 04:43:36
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
No defeat, sir. We're both trying to increase our understanding/command of the rules, so we both win. (You made me double-check the codices for the phrasing on both).
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 15:03:23
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
dabupp wrote:kirsanth wrote:It is as Grakmar stated, most everyone agrees 1.
There are ways to read it as two, but that gets rather strange too fast and I have never seen it played that way.
Wasn't Grakmar the one that originally said 2?
I did. However, I also pointed out that almost everyone assumes you can only ever suffer 1 Perils. The rules are a little vague on this, but I stand by that a strict reading of the rules results in the possibility of 2 Perils.
However, if my opponent disagreed with this, I wouldn't argue at all. I think the intent is for a single perils.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/15 17:26:37
Subject: Deployment vs Turn Order
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The only place I've seen it it state you don't take more than 1 PotW is the Eldar FAQ on Runes vs Runes. It specifically states that if the result of the 3d6 is 12+, you don't suffer another PoTW if you've already suffered one for double 6's.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|