Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 09:08:48
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
The GK's orbital bombardment "barrage bomb" says Ordnance D3 large blast.
Do you resolve it as ordnance barrage by flipping the pie plates with additional arrow rows or just count w/e it hits as taking 3 hits at the same time?
I was looking at the manticore for inspiration on how to interperate the rule but that thing says ordnance barrage.
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 09:14:20
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Prior to rolling the scatter die you roll d3. You then treat it as ordnance barrage.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 07:01:40
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
No. You never treat it as ordnance barrage, just orndance. All three blasts target the same spot, and then you roll to scatter for each one.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 16:45:46
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If it is Ordnance D3, large blast, then use it as a D3 shot Ordnance weapon.
Now, there arent actually any rules for this, however the best suggestion is pretend it is D3 weapons firing Ordnance, as this fits the rule the closest.
Reference for this ruling is the Tempest launcher, which is a multiple shot barrage weapon, which was FAQ'd to use the multiple barrage rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 17:40:37
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Thanks Nos, I forgot to mention where I was getting my info. Hopefully next edition will fix some of these problems...
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 23:00:46
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:the best suggestion is pretend it is D3 weapons firing Ordnance
Technically isn't that impossible? If you fire Ordnance, you can not fire any other weapon without a special rule saying so.
More seriously though, I don't see how this is any different than a Typhoon Speeder that uses multiple blasts. Ordnance rules only affect what can fire and AP, not how it is resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/18 04:44:26
Subject: Barrage bomb, how do you resolve the D3 hits?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The tempest launcher also had the old 'guess' designation, right? Meaning it was a multiple shot barrage weapon, NOT a multiple shot ordinance weapon.
Treat it like a manticore that fires directly, aka scatter once for each shot on the d3. Multiple Barrage rules are their own entity with special rules for scatter.
|
|
 |
 |
|