| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 10:14:02
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
After some intrapersonnel debate on wether to post this in the BAO 2012 tickets thread or here, I decided here was probably better.
Scenario: You charge (or get tank shocked by) a LR Achilles with a unit equiped with meltabombs. The entry in the 40k 5th Ed. rulebook says its a cc grenade that grants the bearer with a strength 8 + 2D6 attack for armour penetration. It in no way says this weapon has the 'Melta' USR.
So does the Achilles negate the 2D6 and make it 1D6 for armour penetration? Or (as I have come to understand it) do you still rock the Achilles world and mess it up? ( I tend to roll well on the pen. chart, so the -1 pen. result that the Achilles has is of no matter. :-) )
Care to offer a comment?
( Reecius <sorry if mis-spelled>, I'm hoping you, or one of your compatriots, can make a ruling)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/16 10:31:53
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 10:36:28
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
If it only ignores 'melta' (like the stormraven) then it's toast against meltabombs.
Meltabombs do NOT have the 'melta' rule.
They are not AP1 (so no bonus to the table - but also NOT AP-, either).
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 10:58:34
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Melta /= Meltabombs, no melta rule
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 20:16:39
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Awesome Autarch
|
Yup, the melta bombs don't actually have the melta rule. Just a similar name!
If the vote comes back yes for IA apocalypse second ed units for the BAO, then we would rule that they work to full effect on the Achilles.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 00:33:55
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
Sweet, thanks guys.
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/19 04:23:11
Subject: Land Raider Achilles vs. Meltabombs (somewhat/sort of/kind of regarding BAO 2012)
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
Moot point now. Meh.
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|