Switch Theme:

Multiple Assaults wound allocation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd




St Louis

A unique situation occurred for me during a match last Saturday that I wasn't prepared for. My opponent charged a unit of boyz with a Blood Angels Tactical squad and with a Furioso Dreadnaught with blood talons. The Dread was in base to base with 3 orks and another 6 were within 2 inches of these.

1) When it came time for the dreadnaught to attack it caused 5 wounds. Can I allocate to the 3 that are in base to base and avoid the other 2 wounds?
2) If I have to allocate all 5 but choose to remove those in base to base, does he get to attack again with the blood talons, even though he is no longer in base to base?
3) Do the blood talons get to keep going until he wipes the entire unit out or doesn't cause any more wounds, even though they are engaged with another unit and not in range or base to base with the dreadnaught?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/19 23:04:04


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, Yes, Yes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Rig has it correct.

Who can attack is determined at the beginning of a round of combat.

So usually, regardless of casualties, you will get to keep attacking with the Furioso even if you remove casualties from B2B

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




This is why we all run away from talon dreads...they just keep killing!

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in ca
Reliable Krootox




Montreal

GreyChaos wrote:This is why we all run away from talon dreads...they just keep killing!


No we must stand and fight...THE LINE MUST BE DRAWN HEEEEAAARR!!

Tash'var Tau 3034 PTS [W]5[L]11[D]0 'Cadre Carnivores of Tash'var' Completed:47/3034
Tyranids 1400PTS [W]2[L]4[D]1 'Hive Fleet Serpent Wing' Completed: 200/1400
I suck at playing, but I dig the painting!

Member of 40k Montreal
There is only war in Montreal
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

wormark wrote:A unique situation occurred for me during a match last Saturday that I wasn't prepared for. My opponent charged a unit of boyz with a Blood Angels Tactical squad and with a Furioso Dreadnaught with blood talons. The Dread was in base to base with 3 orks and another 6 were within 2 inches of these.

1) When it came time for the dreadnaught to attack it caused 5 wounds. Can I allocate to the 3 that are in base to base and avoid the other 2 wounds?
2) If I have to allocate all 5 but choose to remove those in base to base, does he get to attack again with the blood talons, even though he is no longer in base to base?
3) Do the blood talons get to keep going until he wipes the entire unit out or doesn't cause any more wounds, even though they are engaged with another unit and not in range or base to base with the dreadnaught?


It's probably worth reviewing the 5th ed assault rules again.

1. Wounds can be dealt/allocated to any model in the unit, regardless of how far away they are. This is usually actually a bit benefit to Orks, as when the enemy attacks first with their higher Initiative, you can remove your casualties from models farthest away, leaving the guys close up alive to attack at full effect when their Initiative step rolls around.
2. As described in the assault rules, you determine which enemy units a given enemy unit can attack at the beginning of each assault (errated in the main rulebook errata to each ROUND OF assault), after assault moves are all made but before any model attacks (in that round). So even if the models in base contact with the dread are removed before his initiative step, he still gets to attack.
3. Yep. They keep going until he wipes them out or fails to inflict an unsaved wound. Remember that he still has to roll to hit with those extra attacks, though. Usually they'll miss after a while. On average I think they normally kill somewhere in the 7-10 range. Remember also that he doesn't get this ability unless both talons are intact, though, so even a single Weapon Destroyed result against the Furioso eliminates the blender ability.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/20 03:15:25


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd




St Louis

thanks

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: