Switch Theme:

teleport homers question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





I am a little unclear on how these work.Do you place the unit and hope its within 6" or can you say you are using the homers and measure the 6"?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You place and hope, as you have no permission ot measure the distance before placing.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

However, you can measure the unit's move in the previous movement phase for the previous player turn, and then you will have a good idea of what is, and is not within range.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Canada

Yes, it's pretty easy though since you aren't scattering.

Best to put it close so that you're 100% sure you're in range.

 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





I thought it was that way , but there is a line in the homer rules which says something along the lines of if you chose to DS near a homer ,which made me think you can measure it out

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You are choosing to DS near it, but nothing lets you measure to see HOW near you are
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




Sorry to piggy-back on someone else's post, but does the whole squad have to be within the 6" to stop from scattering or just the center figure (first figure placed)? I've always seen it played as just the center figure, however I've never personally used a teleport homer and just want to make sure it's being played correctly.

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





So say the middle guy lands 7" away would you still scatter since you can place a model within 6" once the whole squad is deployed.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You dont scatter if the MARKER you place is within 6"

Under no other circumstances do you not scatter from the homer.
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

There is no 'Marker' placed... you pick a model and place that - an important distinction in regards to mishaps.

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Massaen wrote:There is no 'Marker' placed... you pick a model and place that - an important distinction in regards to mishaps.

Not really... can you explain why you think that?

You might avoid a mishap initially by using a marker smaller than the normal base, but normal deep strike formation placement will trigger a mishap in that case.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Because you still have to place it in a legal position where the model will fit. At work now so no rule book to quote from...

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

If you cannot tell the difference between 6" and 4" - Game ranges are probably the least of your problems.....

Essentially, the petal formation rules re Deep strike are then seconded to the Teleport Homer special rules.

Just keep between 5-6 " to keep[ both your missus, and Army safe....

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The markr is the model - it is a marker not the unit
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: