Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 00:18:29
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
Quick question, sorry if this sounds obvious but I need an answer.
Today I had a game of Necrons V Tau and I had a Cryptek attached to an Immortal squad guarding an objective.
Later throughout the game there were only 2 immortals left and the cryptek. But only the cryptek was within objective range.
Does the cryptek count as part of the troop choice of the unit, or because he is a character (former extra HQ as well) he cannot capture the object?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 00:20:20
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Blackgaze wrote:Quick question, sorry if this sounds obvious but I need an answer.
Today I had a game of Necrons V Tau and I had a Cryptek attached to an Immortal squad guarding an objective.
Later throughout the game there were only 2 immortals left and the cryptek. But only the cryptek was within objective range.
Does the cryptek count as part of the troop choice of the unit, or because he is a character (former extra HQ as well) he cannot capture the object?
He can capture the objective just fine. He is a part of the troop unit, even more so than an IC might be.
Still, he would be able to even if he was an IC. Once an IC is a part of a troop unit, he is a part of that unit for all intents and purposes, until he leaves (or until the assault phase).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/23 00:21:08
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 01:34:32
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
puma713 wrote:Blackgaze wrote:Quick question, sorry if this sounds obvious but I need an answer.
Today I had a game of Necrons V Tau and I had a Cryptek attached to an Immortal squad guarding an objective.
Later throughout the game there were only 2 immortals left and the cryptek. But only the cryptek was within objective range.
Does the cryptek count as part of the troop choice of the unit, or because he is a character (former extra HQ as well) he cannot capture the object?
He can capture the objective just fine. He is a part of the troop unit, even more so than an IC might be.
Still, he would be able to even if he was an IC. Once an IC is a part of a troop unit, he is a part of that unit for all intents and purposes, until he leaves (or until the assault phase).
Ok thanks, that helps!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 01:55:00
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
As he is attached much the same way as wolfguard to space wolf units I would agree - he becomes a troops choice when attached to a unit of warriors/immortals and can score even when all alone.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:37:45
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Yup he can claim because he cant leave the unit. So he is part of it for all intents and purposes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:52:11
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Even if he could leave the unit (IC) he could claim - as he's treated as part of the unit.
If he left the unit he'd obviously not be a Troop anymore, so couldn't claim.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:57:06
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
not true - he needs to be a troops choice or have a rule allowing him to score. The reason the royal court can score is because they become part of the squad they join prior to the game starting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 03:07:00
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Massaen wrote:not true - he needs to be a troops choice or have a rule allowing him to score. The reason the royal court can score is because they become part of the squad they join prior to the game starting.
If he's an IC and has joined a Troop unit, and is still part of that unit, then the unit is within 3" of the objective as long as the IC is.
This has nothing to do with the Cryptek though, so I'll drop it as off-topic for the thread.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 10:38:23
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Massaen wrote:not true - he needs to be a troops choice or have a rule allowing him to score. The reason the royal court can score is because they become part of the squad they join prior to the game starting.
If an IC is joined to a Scoring unit and the IC is within 3", then by definition of measuring TO units the UNIT is also within 3", meaning they can claim the objective.
P48 and 49, the IC is a normal member of the unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 12:54:35
Subject: Re:Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
How about if the cryptek was the only model left from the immortal unit (due to shooting for example)...could he capture then?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 13:18:03
Subject: Cryptek/Lord = Troop objective holder?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes,folliowing the WG ruling.
Until or unless they specifically FAQ it the only sensible course of action is to treat them as WG
|
|
 |
 |
|