Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:36:42
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Was recently playing a game using Necrons vs Dark Eldar and the following questions cropped up. If a unit with the Relentless special rule (and bearing Rapid Fire/Heavy weapons) is in a transport moving at Cruising speed/Flat Out, may they still fire their weapons? These rules seem to directly conflict with each other. On the other hand, we managed to find a workaround - the unit simply disembarked from the vehicle at the end of the move and fired normally. The relevant rules: Relentless (pg 76): "Relentless models can shoot with rapid fire and heavy weapons counting as stationary, even if they moved in the previous Movement phase, and are also allowed to assault in the same turn they fire them." Shooting from a Vehicle (pg 66): "Models firing from a vehicle count as moving if the vehicles move, and may not fire at all if the vehicle moved at Cruising speed that turn." Can Imotekh the Stormlord fire both his Gauntlet of Flame and Staff of the Destroyer in the same Shooting Phase? I'm inclined to think no but my friend thinks there might be a case for it as Imotekh has the Relentless rule and both weapons are Assault 1. Not a rules question, but still an important one. We were proxying models as I still don't have my own 'Crons. We used IG tanks to represent the Annihilation Barges. My buddy Immobilized two of the Barges, and effectively neutered them by leaving them facing at nothing - we were unsure whether either of the Barge's guns could pivot. From the picture in the Codex it doesn't look like they can, but it would be nice to know for sure. EDIT: Removed my question about the Cryptek as I just saw it answered in another thread.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/23 02:43:18
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:50:50
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Trio of no's I'm pretty sure.
No, the cruising/flat out says no fire is possible, so Relentless doesn't matter.
No, non-MCs can only fire one weapon - Relentless or not.
No, the weapons can't pivot really so have a 45 degree arc.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 02:55:19
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
3 for 3. I agree.
The rules for troops shooting from vehicles specify that combat speed is the max you can move while still using the fire points. No exceptions are made for anything (like open topped or relentless). As you pointed out you can just disembark after moving and shoot though.
Shooting more than 1 weapon is only available to walkers/MC's and vehicles or models that specifically are allowed to do so.
As per the rule book, hull mounted weapons have a 45 degree arc (the barges gun looks pretty fixed hull to me!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 04:02:40
Subject: Re:Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
I agree except the last. You can't embark nor disembark from a vehicle if it moves flat out or intends to move flat out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 10:39:25
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...unless you have a special rule, like SR and Valkyries have, which lets you disembark
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 23:50:37
Subject: Re:Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Didn't see this answered in my (admittedly brief) forum search, so rather than making a new thread, I thought I'd post an addendum here:
If a Lord with Mindshackle Scarabs forces a model to attack his own unit, and additionally if the character has special rules allowing it to re-roll attacks/Wounds (such as a Gauntlet of Fire), who decides whether the model makes use of the rules - the Necron player, or the owner of the model? Or, do the re-rolls automatically happen without consent from either player in case of a failed Hit/Wound?
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/23 23:51:58
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
The Necron player decides what weapon, and what bonuses of that weapon, are applied to the attacks.
|
Necrons (W/D/L): 4/1/0
Reset with the new Codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/24 09:57:40
Subject: Necron Rules Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
To-hit - irrelevant, as MSS inflicts D3 HITS on the unit
Reroll to wound - as above
|
|
 |
 |
|