| Author | 
					Message | 
				
				
  | 
| 
 | 
  | 
| 
Advert
 | 
  
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
 - No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
 
 - Times and dates in your local timezone.
 
 - Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
 
 - Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
 
 - Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
  If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |   
  
  
 
 | 
				 
				
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2011/12/26 06:43:51
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Regular Dakkanaut
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									I just recently started playing Fantasy and I'm planning to convert some models for my Skaven army and I'd like to be able to clarify this rule question before I go ahead and do the work.
  I did a few searches and couldn't find a good specific answer.
  
  Do warplock pistols and warplock muskets count towards a character's magic item limit? 
  The FAQ seems to suggest 'yes' as these count as magical weapons, but later goes on to state scavenge-pile items aren't restricted when it comes to the chieftain's BSB rule. I've also seen a few lists where warlock engineers were given warplock pistols/muskets in addition to other magic weapons. 
  
  Thanks for any clarity.
  
  
  
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2011/12/26 07:24:32
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Cosmic Joe
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									They are a normal weapon option for the engineer so no they don't count.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  
 Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.     | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2011/12/26 16:25:00
	  
	    Subject: Re:Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Fixture of Dakka
	 
 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									It depends on the character, and the option.
  
  Engineers can take a pistol as a gear option separate from their 'scavenge pile/magic weapon' allowance But poison would have to come out of their magic allowance, because that isn't a gear option. So, unless a scavenged item is listed a separate gear choice, it comes out of the magic allowance.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
 My job here is done.   | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/13 06:32:14
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Regular Dakkanaut
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Just wanted to thank you guys for the reply (albeit late).
  
  I now have a related question regarding the same item. This actually came up during a game today and I'm not sure what the solution is.
  
  I was playing a very short, small points game and had my warlord equipped with a Warplock pistol. The issue that came up was in close combat. 
  The rules state that characters -must- use a magic weapon in CC if they have one. The Warplock Pistol is the only magic weapon my Warlord had. However, in close combat the Warplock Pistol counts as an additional hand weapon and has to be paired with a hand weapon.
  
  But, the rules also state that magic weapons can't be combined with normal weapons in close combat.
  
  So my Warlord has to use his warplock pistol as it's a magic weapon, but he can't use it in close combat as it has to be used as an additional hand weapon and you can't combine normal and magic weapons in that way.
  
  So is it that he just can't attack in close combat? Does he get an additional attack? Does the additional attack count as magical? 
  
  Thanks again for any help.
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/13 06:36:44
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Evasive Eshin Assassin
	 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									The pistol's attacks "count as magical", but it is not itself a magic weapon...? I'd like to say that only its shots count as magical but...eh. I hope it's in the Errata.
  
  But as an extra hand weapon, you have to use it over your shield.
  
  Beyond that, I'd say it seems that the rules for it being an extra weapon allow you to use it alongside a normal one. The Dark Elves have such a dagger, I believe.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/13 17:47:51
	  
	    Subject: Re:Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Infiltrating Naga
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									I believe the scrap pile doesn't come under wargear and is offered up as a different points selection. As far as the add ons given to the warlock engineer they aren't included under your 50pts.
  
  You'll also notice by how its written in the book, this tends to go for every character that can choose magic equipment in any book.
  
  Options: 
   Magic: (One choice only.)
  Lvl1
  Lvl2
  
  Weapons: (One choice only.) 
  Warlock Augmented Weapon
  Warplock pistol
  Warpmusket
  
  May choose items up to total value of 50pts.
  
  ----
  
  Just by reading and applying in the order shone you would - Apply magic level -- apply weapon -- apply 50pts of magic items.
        Automatically Appended Next Post:  I don't know about the warplock pistol, I would imagine there being some leniency towards it being a ranged weapon. Though if it does count as a magical attack and an additional CC attack I would assume that means you do have to use it over a shield(?)
  
  But at the same time potentially rolled separately as a magic attack idk
							
							
						 | 
					
						
							| 
								
								 This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/13 17:49:51 
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/13 19:56:28
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Evasive Eshin Assassin
	 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Well...hm. In close combat, a pistol counts as the special weapon "Extra Hand Weapon", which gives you +1 attack. You use the Extra Hand Weapon special weapon, not your mundane hand weapon and a second one. It's its own thing.
  
  So, assuming that the Warplock Pistol has magic attacks in close combat, all of your characters attacks would count as magical, since they're all made by your special weapon, Extra Hand Weapon, yes-yes?
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/17 02:27:21
	  
	    Subject: Re:Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Fresh-Faced New User
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Skaven Supplement states for each character that can take Scavenger items that the cost for them is taken from the Magic Points allocation.  The big thing with scavenger items is that multiple characters can have the same item unlike a magic item.
  
  The latest Skaven FAQ clearly states that a model equipped with a warplock pistol has magical attacks.
  
  Q: Are all of a model’s close combat attacks magical attacks if it is
  using a warplock pistol? (p33)
  A: Yes.
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/17 04:28:01
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Regular Dakkanaut
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									I completely missed that, and both of us looked over the FAQ at the time. 
  
  Thanks for the clarification and help, guys.
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2012/01/17 19:43:56
	  
	    Subject: Skaven magic item limit question 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Evasive Eshin Assassin
	 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Lesson: if you want a shield, don't take a pistol.
  
  Noted.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
				
		
				  | 
				
					| 
						
					 |