| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 02:42:40
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
Today I had a game in which a dark eldar player moved his transport 12', got his passengers out, MOVED, and assaulted.
This would be fine except for the movement in which the flgs said it allowed passengers to move once they left the 12' moved vehicle if it's an fast skimmer (open topped obviously allows assault)
I didn't have my rulebook on the day and I can't find anything in there when I came home. Is this true or false infomation? If false, what can I do to tell these players it's wrong?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 03:00:58
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
It depends - did they move or run when they got out?
If a fast OT skimmer (ie a dark eldar raider/venom) moves 12" then the unit indeed may disembark. They can then follow this by running 1d6 and as they have fleet, they can charge after running.
The rules for transport vehicles are clear as to what you can do after a vehicle has moved.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 04:42:18
Subject: Re:Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As above.
Since the raider is open-topped, it can move 12" have the unit inside disembark 2" (plus about .75" for the model base). That can't move, then, but they can run 1d6" and then assault 6" (due to open-topped).
DE can get kinda scary like that as they have a huge threat range:
~2" (pivot) + 12" move + 2" disembark + ~.75" base width + 1d6" run + 6" assault = 23.75-28.75 inch assault range is well within the realm of possiblilty.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 11:49:57
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
Ok thanks. I do believe they were moving and not running, as I was quite aware of the 2' access point deploy and running/fleet
How can I tell these folks they were wrong? It's not easy convincing these lot...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 12:02:39
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Blackgaze wrote:Ok thanks. I do believe they were moving and not running, as I was quite aware of the 2' access point deploy and running/fleet
How can I tell these folks they were wrong? It's not easy convincing these lot...
Show them the rule for no moving after disembarking from a moving vehicle. Ask them to show you the rule that contradicts this for fast skimmers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 12:54:06
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
alot of the DE models have fleet, so it seems plausable that they were running with them after they disembarked.
Do you remember if the unit that jumped out of the transport shot in the shooting phase?
If they did not shoot, its very likely they ran and then assaulted.
If thats the case then you just have to make sure they are rolling to see how far they can run, and not just auto running 6".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/30 15:47:59
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
BarBoBot wrote:alot of the DE models have fleet, so it seems plausable that they were running with them after they disembarked.
Do you remember if the unit that jumped out of the transport shot in the shooting phase?
If they did not shoot, its very likely they ran and then assaulted.
If thats the case then you just have to make sure they are rolling to see how far they can run, and not just auto running 6".
Yes they did shoot after they moved (archon shot pistol in squad). In this case they didn't need to fleet, but I just needed to know.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 21:46:24
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Glad I read this. My friend told me I could move / shoot assault with my wyches after a 12" move. I thought it sounded wrong. Disembarking SHOULD be a movement. Run or shoot and assault, sure.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 21:49:49
Subject: Fast Open-topped Transport Skimmers - Question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
It's very clear in the rulebook. They need to read it again.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|