Switch Theme:

Necrons Ever-Living Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine





OK, so I was testing out Necrons today, in a little 500 point game today and we ran across a problem I didnt know how to play.

I have an Overlord (with Orb) in combat with an Archon. He wounds me once, while I fail to wound him. In the book, there's no mention
of fearless so I take my morale check and fail. The archon then proceeds to catch me (yay Int 2!) and wipes me out.

1. Does my Overlord get his Ever-living in this situation?
2. If he does, does he take it off the Orb's 4+ or Reanimation protocol of 5+?
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

1. He can get up.
2. He uses the orb.
this is taking into account you are able to get him away from the archon with the 3" range.
its also good to note that I don't know if an archon has any "no save" abilities.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/31 06:23:39


Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Lunchmonkey wrote:OK, so I was testing out Necrons today, in a little 500 point game today and we ran across a problem I didnt know how to play.

I have an Overlord (with Orb) in combat with an Archon. He wounds me once, while I fail to wound him. In the book, there's no mention
of fearless so I take my morale check and fail. The archon then proceeds to catch me (yay Int 2!) and wipes me out.

1. Does my Overlord get his Ever-living in this situation?
2. If he does, does he take it off the Orb's 4+ or Reanimation protocol of 5+?


Since neither the RP or EL rules say they work if the unit is caught in a sweeping advance, and since sweeping advance says that unless thewise specified, the unit is destroyed and no save or special rule they have can save them, then the overlord in your example has been caught in a sweeping advance by the archon and is destroyed.
He is removed form play, no ever-living roll is allowed.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk





Statesville NC USA

^ But does the everliving rule "save" him.... he's technically removed from play until the roll is made.
Side note if the whole unit is swept, can the Lord make the roll at all? Warriors cannot make the roll if there is no warrior model left.

"If you are not naughty you get a cookie. If you are naked, you get a cookie." - Insaniak, Dakka Mod


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Sheffield / Oxford

gregor_xenos wrote:Side note if the whole unit is swept, can the Lord make the roll at all? Warriors cannot make the roll if there is no warrior model left.

The Overlord is an IC, and so wouldn't he count as a seperate unit for the purposes of Reanimation/Everliving? If he's by himself and he's killed he can still make the save, so why not here?

I would still say though that you would not be allowed to make a reanimation/ever-living roll if your Overlord is caught by Sweeping Advance. Time Wizard is right, the model caught by a sweeping advance is removed from play unless it is subject to a rule that specifically states that this is not the case. As neither Ever-living nor Reanimation protocols states this, your Overlord would be removed from play.

-Tom Leighton
- Ireland ETC - Eldar - 2016

-Former 17 year old intro welcomer for dank post count. Pls forgive me <3 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





If an IC is swept a counter is never created...

Sweeping advance does not remove 'as a casualty' it simply removes from play.

Both EL and RP require the model to be removed 'as a casualty' for a token to be placed.

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The IC is a normal member of the unit (P49)

You are trying, via EL / RP, to save a member of the unit from destruction

SA says this is not allowed, unless the rule specifically allows it

RP / EL do not specifically allow it.
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Atlanta, GA

So I'm playing Tyranids vs Necrons and a Lord with an orb, and a cryptek plus two immortals assault my brood lord and genestealers. I hit first killing everyone. So I consolidate away 5 inches to try and claim an objective.

He rolls and the lord and cryptek get back up. But the immortals are removed.

In this case since both models had the everliving rule, can the lord and cryptek get back up on successful rolls?

They were not swept, they were wiped out in close combat.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





rpricew wrote:So I'm playing Tyranids vs Necrons and a Lord with an orb, and a cryptek plus two immortals assault my brood lord and genestealers. I hit first killing everyone. So I consolidate away 5 inches to try and claim an objective.

He rolls and the lord and cryptek get back up. But the immortals are removed.

In this case since both models had the everliving rule, can the lord and cryptek get back up on successful rolls?

They were not swept, they were wiped out in close combat.

Yes. The Cryptek even stays a member of a Troop unit (for purposes of capturing an objective).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: