Switch Theme:

Talos Pain Engine  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Masculine Male Wych





Norwich, England

Putting together my Talos has thrown up a question. Is it possible to take chain flails and a twin linked liquifier?
At first. looking at the codex, it would seem you can only take one of these options, but the assembly instructions specify the chain flails go on the right arm, but the liquifier gun goes on the left arm, so there is no conflict in the modeling options.
What do people think?

My You Tube Channel - Shredder - Gaming For Science
Dark Eldar
Necromunda Orlock gang
Chaos
Tomb Kings
Why iz Orks green an' stupid? Coz if they were pink an' stupid they'd be Humies!  
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior





You can take both, so long as you purchase a second close combat weapon to be replaced by the second weapon. Essentially you're paying a 10 point tax for having that second gun.
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Manhattan, Ks

Its worth every amount of points you pay, chain flails are nasty and so are the liquifier gun. Its my personal favorite wargear as you have the chance of wiping off a full squad of terminators

"Decadence Unbound..."

10,000+


 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





The Talos entry says replace one with one of these. How can you do that twice? Wouldn't the rule say replace any with any if that was the case?

Homer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/05 18:34:45


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior





Homer S wrote:The Talos entry says replace one with one of these. How can you do that twice? Wouldn't the rule say replace any with any if that was the case?

Homer


Because the talos allows you to replace a close combat weapon with either chain flails or liquifier gun (or the injector but who uses that) and then also gives you the upgrade to purchase an additional close combat weapon, which can then be upgraded with whichever one you didn't upgrade the first weapon. You can't apply both upgrades to the same close combat weapon, which is what the upgrade is saying.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





lord_bobbington wrote:
Homer S wrote:The Talos entry says replace one with one of these. How can you do that twice? Wouldn't the rule say replace any with any if that was the case?

Homer


Because the talos allows you to replace a close combat weapon with either chain flails or liquifier gun (or the injector but who uses that) and then also gives you the upgrade to purchase an additional close combat weapon, which can then be upgraded with whichever one you didn't upgrade the first weapon. You can't apply both upgrades to the same close combat weapon, which is what the upgrade is saying.

So, the Nemesis Dreadknight has 2 Nemesis Doomfists as base wargear. It has the following option:

C:GK, pg. 94 wrote:May replace one Nemesis Doomfist with one of the following:

Using your logic, I can then replace the other with one also?

Also, the Chaos Dreadnought has 1 DCCW as base wargear and can trade for a second one. It has the following option:

C:CSM, pg. 95 wrote:May replace one DCCW with a Missile Launcher.

I've never seen a Chaos Dreadnought with two Missile Launchers.

I'm not buying it. If you could do a second swap why would it say one for one and not any for one or any for any?

Homer

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/06 11:36:06


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I am on the "no, I am afraid not"-side of things.

It says; "Replace one of its close combat weapons with one of the following;....". Notice the "replace one" (meaning singular) and "weapons" (meaning plural).

It doesn't matter how many close combat weapons it has, as we are only given permission to replace one of them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/06 12:03:35


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

I agree with this - you can only pick one upgrade

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Masculine Male Wych





Norwich, England

Thanks guys, I was afraid of that, such a shame as both would be awesome.

My You Tube Channel - Shredder - Gaming For Science
Dark Eldar
Necromunda Orlock gang
Chaos
Tomb Kings
Why iz Orks green an' stupid? Coz if they were pink an' stupid they'd be Humies!  
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior





Homer S wrote:
lord_bobbington wrote:
Homer S wrote:The Talos entry says replace one with one of these. How can you do that twice? Wouldn't the rule say replace any with any if that was the case?

Homer


Because the talos allows you to replace a close combat weapon with either chain flails or liquifier gun (or the injector but who uses that) and then also gives you the upgrade to purchase an additional close combat weapon, which can then be upgraded with whichever one you didn't upgrade the first weapon. You can't apply both upgrades to the same close combat weapon, which is what the upgrade is saying.

So, the Nemesis Dreadknight has 2 Nemesis Doomfists as base wargear. It has the following option:

C:GK, pg. 94 wrote:May replace one Nemesis Doomfist with one of the following:

Using your logic, I can then replace the other with one also?

Also, the Chaos Dreadnought has 1 DCCW as base wargear and can trade for a second one. It has the following option:

C:CSM, pg. 95 wrote:May replace one DCCW with a Missile Launcher.

I've never seen a Chaos Dreadnought with two Missile Launchers.

I'm not buying it. If you could do a second swap why would it say one for one and not any for one or any for any?

Homer


How does any of what you listed deny what I said?

I've never seen anything that says a dreadknight can't replace both of it's fists for one of each weapon. The reason people don't is that it would be insanely costly and redundant.

Replace one (as in don't replace both) with one of these weapons (as in you can't take multiple upgrades for the same close combat weapon).

Your logic is that because people don't means that you can't?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





lord_bobbington wrote:

I've never seen anything that says a dreadknight can't replace both of it's fists for one of each weapon. The reason people don't is that it would be insanely costly and redundant.



Except of course that the option says; "Replace ONE", not "Replace A". How many can you replace?....ONE.



For fun take a look at the Grey Knights Terminator entry.
Under "Options" it says; "One model may replace his Nemesis force weapon with a Nemesis warding Staff"
Compare this to the DKs; "May replace one Nemesis doomfist with one of the...."

How many Nemesis warding staffs can a GK Terminator squad take.......?



....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/07 03:28:39


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I would have used nids as a better example:
Hive tyrant: may replace x with scything talons. May replace ANY set of scything talons with...
Tyranid prime: replace x with scything talons (these may not be further exchanged)

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Yeah, I agree, but I wanted an example from the same codex, and it was the first thing I noticed when I flipped through the armylist.

Even better I would have liked to find an example of the opposite situation being spelled out in the same codex, but didn't find any really good ones.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: