Ratius wrote:
If a Jack has a fully damaged cortex and is in combat it gets free hits against it? Is that right?
Can the enemy engaged with it move away freely?
A crippled cortex just means a warjack cannot be allocated focus and cannot spend any focus it may have. It doesn't get any free strikes against it, and it can still attack normally, just not with focus.
See Prime p.66.
Can you move away freely from any combat or do you have to stay locked in until the end?
You can leave any time you want to, but if you leave an enemy's melee range, then you take a free strike from that enemy.
See Prime p51.
When fleeing is it like 40k where you keep moving backwards until off the table? Can you do anything whilst fleeing?
If you flee, then you must run. Running is moving between 0" and 2x your
SPD. So, you can stay in place if you want. If you do move, you cannot move toward an enemy model.
See Prime p85.
You can do very little while fleeing, but it is also listed on that page.
Is it correct that everything in the game gets one move and one action?
If one runs you cannot perform an action?
You get one movement and one action, but your action may consist of several attacks (because of a power attack, a special attack, buying additional attacks or simply having several weapons). There are also many special rules that allow a model to move several times, both inside and outside their own activation.
You cannot perform an action while running, see Prime p46.
Does charging = your move + action allowance? If you charge into combat can you then do a special attack? if not, can you do normal attacks with your weapons - say you have 2 weapons that would be 3 attacks total?
Charging uses up your normal movement and action, yes. You can make a special attack as a charge attack, but not a power attack (specific kinds of special attacks that 'jacks can make). After your charge movement, you can make all your initial melee attacks, and the first of these would be your charge attack. So, if you had 2 weapons, you would make 2 attacks and the first one of these would get automatically boosted damage if it hits.
Are charges always in a straight line? We had a situation where a trolls big base was half behind impassable terrain and half not. He claimed he could charge through the terrain.
Yes, charges are always in a straight line, but not necessarily directly towards your target (you can charge at an angle). You can charge through rough terrain (at half speed), but never through impassable terrain. In that case your charge movement would stop as soon as you contacted it, and your activation would end.
Can individual squad members do different things? For example, could half the unit shoot and then half charge (assuming they stay in command radius)?
Models in a unit can do different things (for example, some of them shoot and some of them fight in melee), but if they are given an order (like Charge), then ALL models in the unit have to obey that order. If you charge, you cannot shoot (without special rules).
What can a Jack do without spending any focus points? Anything at all?
It still has its normal movement and action, so it could make all of its initial attacks, or any special attacks it has available.
Spells can be cast anytime except during a movement?
Anytime during the activation of the spellcaster, yes. It cannot interrupt a movement or an attack, so you could not cast a spell between an attack roll and a damage roll, for example.
Sorry if they sound ultra newbish, we're just trying to get the basics right so we can move things forward, thanks.
Everyone was new once