Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 16:37:00
Subject: Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
This is in regard to the implant parasite rule. For those that dont know heres the rule:
Your opponent must take a toughness test for each model removed as a casualty because of wounds inflicted by the parasite of mortrex. For each test failed roll a d6.
At the end of the assault phase place a ripper swarm unit with a number of bases equal to the sum total of all the dice rolled such that all bases are within 6" of the parasite.
Any bases that cannot be placed due to impassible trerrain, enemy within 1" or because you have run out of models are lost.
Does this mean that if the parasite kills 3 models and say all 3 fail thier toughness test, does this mean 3d6 bases or 3?
I`m using the parasite recently to no real avail but i believe we`ve been reading this rule wrong.
I used him last game killed 1 terminator, my opponent rolled a 5, i only got one base and not d6. I dont think this is right. What do you all think.
Cheers, Kryczek
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 16:38:11
Subject: Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
kryczek wrote:This is in regard to the implant parasite rule. For those that dont know heres the rule:
Your opponent must take a toughness test for each model removed as a casualty because of wounds inflicted by the parasite of mortrex. For each test failed roll a d6.
At the end of the assault phase place a ripper swarm unit with a number of bases equal to the sum total of all the dice rolled such that all bases are within 6" of the parasite.
Any bases that cannot be placed due to impassible trerrain, enemy within 1" or because you have run out of models are lost.
Does this mean that if the parasite kills 3 models and say all 3 fail thier toughness test, does this mean 3d6 bases or 3?
I`m using the parasite recently to no real avail but i believe we`ve been reading this rule wrong.
I used him last game killed 1 terminator, my opponent rolled a 5, i only got one base and not d6. I dont think this is right. What do you all think.
Cheers, Kryczek
It's pretty clear - 1d6 per failed test. You build Ripper swarms *FAST*
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 16:40:14
Subject: Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Thats what i thought as well.
So this means if he kills 5 and they all fail he could give upto 30 bases (5xd6) yes?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 16:41:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 16:41:13
Subject: Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
For each model that fails a toughness test, you get d6 ripper bases. If your opponent fails 3 tests, 3d6 bases. If your opponent fails 1 test, and you roll a 5 , you would get 5 ripper bases.
Edit: Ninja'd due to lack of computer. I miss my computer...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 16:44:05
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 16:46:09
Subject: Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
kryczek wrote:Thats what i thought as well.
So this means if he kills 5 and they all fail he could give upto 30 bases (5xd6) yes?
Yes. Be prepared with a lot of bases.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 17:52:30
Subject: Re:Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Also, it is important to note that you cannot choose whether or not to use that ability. So, in Kill Point missions, there may be points where you're creating easy kill points, like 1 or 2 bases.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:07:23
Subject: Re:Tyranid Parasite of Mortrex rules query.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
puma713 wrote:Also, it is important to note that you cannot choose whether or not to use that ability. So, in Kill Point missions, there may be points where you're creating easy kill points, like 1 or 2 bases.
An extra kill point, possibly every (player) turn... that can add up. You'll also want a way of distinguishing the swarms - you might have fourteen swarms by the end of the game!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/08 19:08:55
|
|
 |
 |
|