Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:23:02
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Alright Dakka, i was just positing a theory with my Necrons and had a question:
If a Necron Overlord in a CCB does a sweep attack, the Necron player may allocate hits of '6' if they wound the enemy, instead of the enemy normally allocating wounds. My question is, if the necron Overlord rolls multiple 6's, can they be allocated to the same model (in this instance, let's say an Ork Warboss) or must they be spread out?
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:24:39
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
There is nothing overriding the rules that every model must be assigned a wound before giving a second wound to a model.
So you can not assign two wounds to one model before all of the models have one wound assigned to them.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:24:48
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Yes because its 3 to hit and to wound rolls done separately(though I know allot of people roll them all at once to speed things up).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/08 19:26:13
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:33:27
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
DeathReaper wrote:There is nothing overriding the rules that every model must be assigned a wound before giving a second wound to a model. So you can not assign two wounds to one model before all of the models have one wound assigned to them.
Each attack is resolved separately with sweep. Specifically, the phrasing is: "roll to hit and to wound separately for each sweep attack" Thus, yes you can allocate each 6 to the same model if you wanted to. Essentially, you're making 3 single attack assaults on the unit with the ability to allocate the wound onto any model in the unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 19:34:09
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 19:37:19
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Thanks AvengingKnee and WanderingFox. I roll mine together too to speed things up but you're right, it is listed as 3 separate attacks. A lucky enough roll could snipe a multi-wound character from a unit.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 20:27:32
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, you should roll 3 times separately, especially as rolling together can give you a mild advantage if you roll double or triple 6
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 20:41:18
Subject: Re:Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
How?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 20:58:13
Subject: Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Seeing that you CAN chose to chain-allocate can mean you choose to allocate differently.
For example you may decide to attack the 2 wound IC if you know you can allocate twice, rather than taking out two normal members of the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/08 21:12:25
Subject: Re:Rolling Multiple 6's on a sweep attack
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
Oh, yeah, I see what you mean. You get the advantage of knowing how many wounds you can allocate before you make the decision of how to do it.
Good point.
|
|
 |
 |
|