| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 09:41:08
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
Reykjavik
|
My friend is consistently trying to deny that a barrage comes from the top and that top armour counts as side armour and he doesn't get a cover save outside of area terrain because i have no LoS. Can anyone help me out and show me where the rules are? (I've already looked under blast and barrage)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 09:51:33
Subject: Re:Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
BRB, pg 60. Last column, 2nd to last paragraph.
Well the vehicle part anyway.
The cover issue is pg. 32, 4th paragraph, first column.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/10 09:53:12
"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC
"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 09:54:48
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
It is on page 60; last sentence of the bullet point: "The centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicle's hull." The Cover issue is a little different than you think; vehicles never gain cover saves from terrain at all against Barrage weapons. The is both due to Page 32 telling us that the only cover that matters is Area Cover(or cover between the center hole and the model hit); and the fact that vehicles must be at least 50% obscured in LOS in order to get cover(page 62).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/10 09:58:33
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 09:55:34
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
That rule came from the Cityfight expansion, due to the prevalence of high-angled shots.
However, in this case, whenever a round template hits a vehicle, the armour value used depends on the side nearest the firing unit. I don't have a big rule book, so I can't quite you a page number, but it is in the section Shooting at Vehicles.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 13:56:53
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
BARRAGE shots, hit side armour though. ALWAYS.
BLAST hits the side facing the shooter.
Not all blast weapons are barrage - but ALL barrage weapons are blast as well.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 16:54:38
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
KK - "The Cover issue is a little different than you think; vehicles never gain cover saves from terrain at all against Barrage weapons."
Not *entirely* true - if the blast hole ends up off the hull, and behind a suitably imposing piece of terrain, THEN the vehicle could gain cover - however usually the vehicle wont even care, due to the half strength of the blast
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 17:01:02
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:KK - "The Cover issue is a little different than you think; vehicles never gain cover saves from terrain at all against Barrage weapons."
Not *entirely* true - if the blast hole ends up off the hull, and behind a suitably imposing piece of terrain, THEN the vehicle could gain cover - however usually the vehicle wont even care, due to the half strength of the blast 
I thought vehicles could also get a cover save if the barrage blast ended up over the hull as long as they're in area terrain and they have 50% of LOS blocked.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/10 17:01:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 17:08:56
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
How can there be cover between the hole, which is on the hull, and the tank?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 17:16:06
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:How can there be cover between the hole, which is on the hull, and the tank?
It's not on the hull, it's over the hull. If there's terrain just above the vehicle (say thick tree branches or the floor of something that isn't a ruin), wouldn't that give cover?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 17:39:58
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Possible, but unlikely - so you are technically correct, the best kind of correct!
Remember it cannot be a ruin level providing this cover, as by definition the barrage could not hit the tank
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 17:42:58
Subject: Where do the rules say top armour counts as side armour?
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
If there a floor and the hike hits the floor then the shot never hits the vehicle since it can only strike things in the same level.
Barrage also hits the top level if a ruin where it lands. Aka if you scatter into a ruin even though you target the ground you could end up on the top floor due to barrage rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|