Switch Theme:

Orbital Strike Relay and Servo Skulls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irradiated Baal Scavanger




So I finally got around to reading the Grey Knights FAQ and noticed that the question that addresses Servo Skulls and OSR is worded quite poorly, surprise surprise.

Q: Would an orbital strike relay targeted within 12" of
one or more servo-skulls have its scatter distance
reduced? (p62)
A: No, it always scatters the full 2D6"

I think that an OSR would still only scatter one d6 because the servo skull entry in 'dex says "Likewise, friendly blast templates placed within 12" of a Servo-Skull roll on D6 less for scatter"

The reason I think you get to roll only one D6 for scatter is because the FAQ deals with scatter distance and the codex is talking about scatter dice two entirely different things in my book. Just wondering what anyone else thinks of my logic on this one.

Over 9000
1850-2500
WIP 1850 upon completion
1500
2000
1000
I like the pretty models 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




The FAQ seems quite clear. An Orbital Strike Relay ALWAYS scatters 2d6". Furthermore, they gave this answer in relation to exactly the question you're asking, and so I don't see any way to take it except as an explicit refutation of your line of argument.

 
   
Made in us
Irradiated Baal Scavanger




No the question I am asking is do you scatter on d6 less, the question they answered is do you get the scatter distance reduced.

They say it scatters the full 2d6 however a servo skull only makes it scatter 1d6 that is reducing dice not distance which are clearly two different things.

Over 9000
1850-2500
WIP 1850 upon completion
1500
2000
1000
I like the pretty models 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Can you scatter the full 2D6 on 1D6? By rolling only one scatter die, you are not fulfilling the requirement to scatter 2D6, so it doesn't matter that the FAQ speaks of distance and the book of dice.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the FAQ:

A: No, it always scatters the full 2D6".

It very clearly stated it scatters a full two to twelve inches.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Black Templar Biker






This is a little ridiculous. How can something be said to scatter "the full 2D6" when you roll only 1D6 instead of 2D6? The FAQ is clear. Drop it.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




4l4ric wrote:No the question I am asking is do you scatter on d6 less, the question they answered is do you get the scatter distance reduced.

They say it scatters the full 2d6 however a servo skull only makes it scatter 1d6 that is reducing dice not distance which are clearly two different things.


You're trying to make a timing argument, but that isn't how the rules work here. You seem to be saying that servo-skulls retroactively reduce your scatter distance by removing one of the d6s you rolled, but that isn't how they work.

Normally, you roll 2d6 for scatter. If there's a servo-skull within 12", you only roll one d6. BUT, the FAQ tells us that the Orbital Strike Relay ALWAYS scatters a full 2d6.

So; you place the marker. You look at the normal rules for scatter; ok, 2d6.

Then you look at the servo-skull rules. There's one within 12"; that means scatter is only 1d6". This overrides the normal Scatter rules.

At THIS point the FAQ comes into effect, and informs you that an OSR will ALWAYS scatter 2d6". This overrides the Servo-skull rule, and you end up rolling 2d6 for scatter.

Make sense?


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





4l4ric wrote:No the question I am asking is do you scatter on d6 less, the question they answered is do you get the scatter distance reduced.

They say it scatters the full 2d6 however a servo skull only makes it scatter 1d6 that is reducing dice not distance which are clearly two different things.

Is 1d6 less scatter a reduction in scatter distance?

Yes - servo skulls don't work.
No - the world implodes, cats and dogs start living together, the Mayans had the date wrong, Michael Jackson and Elvis come back and give a farewell tour, and Jennifer from 8th grade says she'll sleep with me (because she indicated that the world would have to end for that to happen).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Irradiated Baal Scavanger




BeRzErKeR wrote:
4l4ric wrote:No the question I am asking is do you scatter on d6 less, the question they answered is do you get the scatter distance reduced.

They say it scatters the full 2d6 however a servo skull only makes it scatter 1d6 that is reducing dice not distance which are clearly two different things.


You're trying to make a timing argument, but that isn't how the rules work here. You seem to be saying that servo-skulls retroactively reduce your scatter distance by removing one of the d6s you rolled, but that isn't how they work.

Normally, you roll 2d6 for scatter. If there's a servo-skull within 12", you only roll one d6. BUT, the FAQ tells us that the Orbital Strike Relay ALWAYS scatters a full 2d6.

So; you place the marker. You look at the normal rules for scatter; ok, 2d6.


Then you look at the servo-skull rules. There's one within 12"; that means scatter is only 1d6". This overrides the normal Scatter rules.

At THIS point the FAQ comes into effect, and informs you that an OSR will ALWAYS scatter 2d6". This overrides the Servo-skull rule, and you end up rolling 2d6 for scatter.

Make sense?



Thanks you cleared it up the best. I was looking at it as a do melta bombs get 2d6 for armour pen sort of issue.

Over 9000
1850-2500
WIP 1850 upon completion
1500
2000
1000
I like the pretty models 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: