Switch Theme:

New player has read the rulebook and FAQ, has a couple of nagging questions...can you help please?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pa
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper





Thanks for reading.

I've studied and rulebook, IG codex, and both FAQs. Still have a little confusion I would appreciate some help on... Please...


1. An independent character has 'joined a unit' - if that unit and the independent character are eliminated, does it count for 1 kill point or 2?
2. Just confirming what think the FAQ states: an Independent Character with Stealth that has 'joined a unit' gives the Stealth rule to the entire unit, correct?
3. Is first rank order only for lasguns? I realize hot-shot lasguns don't qualify (as in the FAQ). But what about lascannons, or plasma guns?
4. Can the order Get back In The Fight rescind a previous turn's Incoming! order?
5. Does each engaged model in an assaulting squad equipped with krak grenades get a single attack on a target vehicle?
6. Do rending weapons (on a roll of 6) negate the target's invulnerable saves?
7. Can a Vet sargeant have:
2 laspistols for 0 points?
2 shotguns for 0 points?
1 laspistol and 1 shotgun for 0 points?
8. In close combat how many attacks would Vet Sargeant get having:
a pistol and a shotgun?
a laspistol and a boltpistol?
a shotgun and non-powered CCW (chainsword)?
a pair of shotguns?
9. Do walkers (Sentinel Scouts?) with their base entirely in area terrain gain a cover save?

thanks for help, much appreciated!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 01:15:30


 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

1. 2 KP
2. Yes
3. Yes only LASGUNS
4. Yes
5.Yes
6.No
7. Not 2 las Pistols but yes to the others. Although he may only fire one per turn.
8.2+1 except for the two Shotguns. Since he has a CCW he jsut needs a pistol or another CCW to get the extra.
9.No, they are vehicle's and must be 50% covered to get a cover save.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in pa
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper





Wow thanks for the amazingly fast reply!

Although he may only fire one per turn.

Thanks that is good to know. That explains why people don't equip their IG Sargeants with double pistols, like a John Woo movie.

Question: So given that Pistols are essentially "Assault 1" weapons (as it says in the rulebook), can anyone think of any reason why Vet Sargeants shouldn't have shotguns instead of laspistols, along with their CCW or Power Sword? The stats for laspistol and shotgun are essentially the same, but shotguns get 2 shots.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because the pistol counts as a single handed CCW (page 42) thus conferring an additional attack when paired with most other single handed CCW

So you decide if you want 2 S3 ap not much shots OR an additional attack in close combat -whcih could be a power weapon
   
Made in pa
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper





but earlier 'slavetodorkness' said a shotgun+CCW sarge would get 2+1 close combat attacks, same as pistol+CCW. is what he said not true?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Stoobert wrote:but earlier 'slavetodorkness' said a shotgun+CCW sarge would get 2+1 close combat attacks, same as pistol+CCW. is what he said not true?


Shotgun is not a pistol so it does not give the +1 bonus to attacks.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Stoobert wrote:but earlier 'slavetodorkness' said a shotgun+CCW sarge would get 2+1 close combat attacks, same as pistol+CCW. is what he said not true?


He was wrong. You don't get an extra attack for having a shotgun+CCW: Pistols and ONLY Pistols, of all ranged weapons, count as CCWs for that purpose.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Oklahoma City, Ok.

I think people are forgetting how to read. he said the shotguns are the exception to the bonus.

"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC

"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC

 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




alarmingrick wrote:I think people are forgetting how to read. he said the shotguns are the exception to the bonus.


No, he said TWO shotguns were the exception. There was also an option for 'one shotgun plus CCW', and that, also, would not grant the bonus. That is what we were referring to.

The irony of your post is so thick it could be cut with a knife.

 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I thought he could have Shotgun, Laspistol, AND CCW. forgot that he replaces one for a shotgun. never said a shotgun gave an extra attack. I mixed it up with the Storm Trooper Sgt. who has a gun, pistol, and a CCW.

Although I did say that he needed a pistol and CCW to gain the bonus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 05:37:41


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Oklahoma City, Ok.

BeRzErKeR wrote:
alarmingrick wrote:I think people are forgetting how to read. he said the shotguns are the exception to the bonus.


No, he said TWO shotguns were the exception. There was also an option for 'one shotgun plus CCW', and that, also, would not grant the bonus. That is what we were referring to.

The irony of your post is so thick it could be cut with a knife.


See, it just proves my point. I clearly need to learn to read.....
When he put "8.2+1 except for the two Shotguns.", i took it to mean the 2 base attacks, +1 for second CCW, except for the 2 shotgun example......

"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC

"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC

 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Stoobert wrote:Thanks for reading.

I've studied and rulebook, IG codex, and both FAQs. Still have a little confusion I would appreciate some help on... Please...


1. An independent character has 'joined a unit' - if that unit and the independent character are eliminated, does it count for 1 kill point or 2?
2. Just confirming what think the FAQ states: an Independent Character with Stealth that has 'joined a unit' gives the Stealth rule to the entire unit, correct?
3. Is first rank order only for lasguns? I realize hot-shot lasguns don't qualify (as in the FAQ). But what about lascannons, or plasma guns?
4. Can the order Get back In The Fight rescind a previous turn's Incoming! order?
5. Does each engaged model in an assaulting squad equipped with krak grenades get a single attack on a target vehicle?
6. Do rending weapons (on a roll of 6) negate the target's invulnerable saves?
7. Can a Vet sargeant have:
2 laspistols for 0 points?
2 shotguns for 0 points?
1 laspistol and 1 shotgun for 0 points?
8. In close combat how many attacks would Vet Sargeant get having:
a pistol and a shotgun?
a laspistol and a boltpistol?
a shotgun and non-powered CCW (chainsword)?
a pair of shotguns?
9. Do walkers (Sentinel Scouts?) with their base entirely in area terrain gain a cover save?

thanks for help, much appreciated!


1. one kill point per selection, in truth the HQ is basically a separate unit for all intents and purpose bar shooting and wounds therein
2. Yes, Like Torias telion.
3. No, only lasguns. imagine it being like a napoleonic era firefight, with men forming in lines to shoot.
4. Does the Incoming rule even take effect this turn?
5. Yes.
6. No. as of now, nothing negates Invuns.
7. Yes, Yes and Yes. Though I hear your shotguns suck.
8. 1. basic, 2. an extra attack for two CCW, 3. basic 4 basic.
9. No, the vehicles rules work differently, even for walkers. Remember you're talking about something three times the size of a marine and still not able to crouch. he isn't able to hide inside a crater.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: