Switch Theme:

Sweep Attack and Trazyn the Infinite combo  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




MT

If i'm readying sweep attack correctly it says that it can make 3 attacks during the movement phase against one enemy unit each turn that it moves over.

Does that mean moving over one unit allows me to make 3 separate attacks against it all during the movement phase?

It states you roll to hit and to wound separetely for each sweep attack; does that mean technically i could use Trazyn the infinites Empathetic Obliterator ability once each sweep for a total of 3 Empathetic Obliterator uses? (granted the fact an enemy is killed each sweep)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/15 07:19:56




<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Empathic Obliterator doesn't work because you're not in close combat. As you noted, the sweep attacks take place in the movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

But they gey any special bonuses from the CCWs, so I'm inclined to say that the Empath would work.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

However Emphatic Obliterator specifies that it works in close combat.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




MT

Valkyrie wrote:But they gey any special bonuses from the CCWs, so I'm inclined to say that the Empath would work.


Thats what I was thinking too; it does state "For each success the unit suffers a hit at the character's strength, plus any Strength bonuses and special abilities from his close combat weapon" which i'm guessing wargear falls under this category since it can be used in close combat?



<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




I think at best you would get just 1 use of his special ability. If you do several wounds in melee with him he only kicks off the "pulse attack" once. I would say he gets it, but you only activate the special ability 1 time. Thats how I would play it.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




MT

Norbu the Destroyer wrote:I think at best you would get just 1 use of his special ability. If you do several wounds in melee with him he only kicks off the "pulse attack" once. I would say he gets it, but you only activate the special ability 1 time. Thats how I would play it.


Thats what I was originally thinking but then I saw that the Sweep Attack ability says Roll To Hit and To Wound separately for each sweep Attack. His Empathetic Obliterator occurs after all blows have been struck, but before Assault results are determined. I know he's not assaulting but it does say use any special bonus's he would normally get from his CC weapons. But since he's not assaulting would the "assault results" be determined 3 times, once for each sweep, since it says Roll To Hit and to Wound separately for each attack which would include the CC special abilities from his close combat weapon (Empathetic Obliterator) for each one?

i.e. sweep 1 - roll to hit/wound - Empathetic obliterator - Assault results determined for 1st attack
i.e. sweep 2 - roll to hit/wound - Empathetic obliterator - Assault results determined for 2nd attack
i.e. sweep 3 - roll to hit/wound - Empathetic obliterator - Assault results determined for 3rd attack

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 17:06:02




<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

As you're not in Assault, there is no determine assault result step for EO to come before. Therefore it cannot occur.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




MT

Happyjew wrote:As you're not in Assault, there is no determine assault result step for EO to come before. Therefore it cannot occur.


Wouldn't a piece of wargear that can be used in closed combat considered be a weapon though? Sorry if i'm getting that incorrect i'm still trying to get the hang of the game.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/15 18:21:31




<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The problem is you have a cc special ability that you can use, but, due to the wording of the timing, it doesn't come into play. If, for example, it said after saves are rolled, "x" happens. But since it says "before Assault resolution" it can only work in the assault phase.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
To clarify:
Assault-
1. Roll to hit/wound/save for each Initiative step
2. Do whatever EO says to do.
3. Combat resolution.

Since there is no combat resolution with the sweep, anything that specifies it comes before combat resolution could not happen.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 19:47:59


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

So if I told you to do something before that bus over there runs off the road, you wouldn't do it because the bus won't run off the road?
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Unit1126PLL wrote:So if I told you to do something before that bus over there runs off the road, you wouldn't do it because the bus won't run off the road?


Nope. If the bus isn't going to run off the road, there's no point rushing around to do something before it runs off the road, is there?

Furthermore, this is 40k, not real life. EO only applies if there's a Combat Resolution step for it to precede; without that, nothing happens. If you want, you can picture the EO rule just hanging in warp-space, waiting with bated breath for a Combat Resolution to occur, so it can interrupt, swoop in and do its thing. . . but it never happens. And poor little EO just stays in warp-space, shedding bitter tears of loneliness.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 21:22:40


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not until right before it runs off the road . As it is that is a poor example. The problem with EO is that since it specifies its done right before combat resolution, you must do it right before combat resolution.
For example, a single wound model with FNP, rolls for FNP right before being removed as a casualty (with certain restrictions). If you are not removed as a casualty, when do you roll for FNP?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Anyone who thinks that the Empathic Obliterator will work on a CCB Sweep should search for this question, because there has got to be at least 40 pages dedicated to debating it, and it is one of the few quirks in the Necron codex that actually seems to have been answered. Here's the general summation:

"If Trazyn kills one more more enemies in close combat, the Empathic Obliterator unleashes a psionic shockwave. This occurs after all blows have been struck, but before the Assault Results are determined. // To resolve the psionic shockwave, roll a D6 for every model in the combat..."

Are you in CC while aboard the Barge? No. Ergo, you cannot use the Empathic Obliterator.
Are any models in combat? No. So the Empathic Obliterator does not resolve.

This is like saying you couldn't have shot that man to death, because that man hasn't been shot, and also he's a mannequin.



EDIT: Also, just to eliminate bias, I'm a Necron player.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/15 23:52:19


 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

Q: Does a Necron Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a Sweep Attack?In addition, are Sweep Attacks close combat attacks? (p52)
A: No to both questions.

That should put this debate to bed for good.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




MT

Lehnsherr wrote:Q: Does a Necron Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a Sweep Attack?In addition, are Sweep Attacks close combat attacks? (p52)
A: No to both questions.

That should put this debate to bed for good.


Well with that attitude yeah



<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

The internet is not the best place for reading into connotation.

If anything, it was an expression of being happy that a debate that has gone on for quite some time, has finally been resolved, and not an attack of any kind.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

Lehnsherr wrote:The internet is not the best place for reading into connotation.


You may need to consider your own advice. I didn't see his comment as being defensive in any way, but more rather comical.

Kind of a "Way to rain all over my parade" kinda way

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: