Switch Theme:

What happens if a fleeing unit (as part of the charge reaction) is caught?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Picture this scenario. Unit A declares a charge on Unit B. UB flees. UB rolls 2, and UA gets a charge range of 12 (M4+8). They are 6" away from each other. Right behind UB is Unit C. Now, what happens if UB is caught? Are they instantly destroyed, and UA keeps going into UC, or what?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Charging Bull



Traverse City, MI

Yes, caught and destroyed.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

And if you roll enough to reach you charge unit C.
No charge reaction as it is basically a pursue charge.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

I thought that's how it works.
Thanks.

Where exactly is it in the book though? I couldn't find it.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






BRB p. 23, Charging a fleeing enemy:

move the charging unit(s) into contact with the fleeing enemy as described earlier and then the fleeing unit is run down by the chargers.

FAQ p. 6:

Q: If I charge an enemy and they are wiped out before the Close Combat phase, can I overrun? If I can, when does this overrun occur? (p58)
A: Yes. The overrun occurs at the start of the Close Combat
phase before any blows have been struck.


So, complete the charge against unit B and stop in base to base contact. Remove unit B. At the start of the Close Combat phase overrun into unit C.

Combat with unit C doesn't resolve until next turn, unless unit C was already engaged at the start of the Close Combat phase.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

CthuluIsSpy wrote:Picture this scenario. Unit A declares a charge on Unit B. UB flees. UB rolls 2, and UA gets a charge range of 12 (M4+8). They are 6" away from each other. Right behind UB is Unit C. Now, what happens if UB is caught? Are they instantly destroyed, and UA keeps going into UC, or what?





as for pg 23 of brb. move charging unit into combat then remove caught unit. Your own unit can then attempt a leadership test to Reform. no further movement allowed in movement phase.



FAQ p. 6:

Q: If I charge an enemy and they are wiped out before the Close Combat phase, can I overrun? If I can, when does this overrun occur? (p58)
A: Yes. The overrun occurs at the start of the Close Combat
phase before any blows have been struck.

So, complete the charge against unit B and stop in base to base contact. Remove unit B. At the start of the Close Combat phase overrun into unit C.

Combat with unit C doesn't resolve until next turn, unless unit C was already engaged at the start of the Close Combat phase.

i might be wrong but i do believe this rule only covers any over reason for unit not being there any longer. as brb pg23 fully covers the catching of fleeing units



 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






Thinking this further, it looks like you get your reform (assuming a passed test) AND get to overrun in the Close Combat phase.

P. 23 prohibits further movement in the Movement phase, but nothing's stopping you from moving in the Close Combat phase. As per the FAQ you get an overrun even if your opponent is wiped out before the close combat, and a fleeing unit is wiped out in the Movement phase.

So: Charge B. B flees. Catch up with B. Pass Ld-test to reform. Make a 120-degree reform (or whatever). Overrun into D. Watch opponent's eyes bulge out.

Sounds silly, but I couldn't find anything more specific concerning this in either the rulebook or the FAQ, anybody else have better luck?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, and I dont htink it;s meant to combine that way as you could overrun back the way you came....
   
Made in au
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





In Firenze kicking Templar arse.

They Die

A Wise Ork once said a profound word: WAAAAAAAGH! Then he got trampled in the incoming stampede!
Current Army: Orks (2000+)
Fido198674 wrote:You know, O great dreadlord......who was that first ork to yell WAAGGHH? According to you sig, his name would now be Squishy, or Smooshed, but I wonder.....
 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






nosferatu1001 wrote:Nope, and I dont htink it;s meant to combine that way as you could overrun back the way you came....


I wholeheartedly agree, but is there anything besides common sense preventing this? Page 23 gives permission to reform and the FAQ gives permission to overrun - nothing that I can see (in the rules) prevents you from doing both.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos





On the perfumed wind

My understanding was that FAQ was intended for situations where units deal damage in phases other than the hand to hand combat phase. So if you successfully charge a unit that is later wiped by magic or shooting that went into combat for whatever reason.

“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.

On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

Red_Zeke wrote:My understanding was that FAQ was intended for situations where units deal damage in phases other than the hand to hand combat phase. So if you successfully charge a unit that is later wiped by magic or shooting that went into combat for whatever reason.



You are right but unfortunately as more often than not with gw they haven't put a exception in the FAQ. Most of us know it's only for other ways units die but it can still be applied to the caught fleeing unit rule. Maybe next FAQ will put the exception in.


RAW vs RAI

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/17 15:15:17


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos





On the perfumed wind

Not at my books now. Perhaps there's some wording in the overrun rule itself that would prevent this silliness?

“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.

On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

So: Charge B. B flees. Catch up with B. Pass Ld-test to reform. Make a 120-degree reform (or whatever). Overrun into D. Watch opponent's eyes bulge out.

Sounds silly, but I couldn't find anything more specific concerning this in either the rulebook or the FAQ, anybody else have better luck?


Q: If I charge an enemy and they are wiped out before the Close Combat phase, can I choose to either Overrun or Reform From Victory? If I can, when does this occur? (p58)
A: Yes. This occurs at the start of the Close Combat phase before any blows have been struck.

One, not both. They both occur at the same time, at the start of the close combat phase, you choose which one you would like to perform.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






Charging a Fleeing Enemy (p. 23) gives you a reform in the Movement phase, though.
The FAQ states that it's either an overrun or a reform in the Close Combat phase,
but doesn't say anything about the reform in the Movement phase.

Could the reform in the movement phase be interpreted as a Reform From Victory and therefore mutually exclusive with an Overrun?
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

There are a few types of reforms. To my knowledge there are Combat reforms, Reform after Victory, and Reform (as completed during the remaining moves phase of the movement phase).

The ability to reform after having caught a fleeing enemy was listed in the movement phase on page 23, but the FAQ has now changed that. Essentially, page 23 has been altered by the FAQ, as that Reform after Victory is now listed as taking place in the CC phase.

The FAQ is asking 2 questions and answering them separately.

If I charge an enemy and they are wiped out before the Close Combat phase, can I choose to either Overrun or Reform From Victory?
Yes

So you can choose to either Reform or Overrun. Granted this doesn't necessarily mean that they could not do both, as the question wasn't entirely specific to the answer we are searching for. It does imply that you can pick one of the 2 though.

If I can, when does this occur? (p58)
This occurs at the start of the Close Combat phase before any blows have been struck.

This part is the rule changer. The Reform after Victory occurs not in the movement phase, but in the CC phase. I am assuming that is the reform that you are referring to, the one granted by catching an enemy unit.

**Edit**
I remember reading page 23 of the BRB last night, and I thought it was listed as a Reform after Victory. I might be misremembering, so hopefully that isn't my mistake.

**2nd edit**

Got home and took a look at the BRB. Its just a reform they are allowed to perform.

It seems as if they have given a unit that catches an opponent the ability to reform twice, or reform and overrun, although this does sound like a huge oversight. I'd be hesitant to use it against any opponent.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/18 22:02:08


2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: