Switch Theme:

independent characters and cc  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Perth Australia

So i was playing a friendly last night with my friend and there was an assult made where his wolf guard and wolf lord only just made it into cc wih my nobs squad. His only modelbin base contact was the wolf lord.

Now the rules state that ic are treated as a seperate unit in cc so were we right in not letting any other models in his squad do their attacks?

Cheers,

Stooge
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

When you piled in where you still not into BtB contact?


   
Made in fi
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Finland

Yes, but it is after Defenders react 6" move. But I can see this would be possible with vehicles blocking the charging squad and the attacked squad.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Perth Australia

There was a wrecked vehicle on one side and impassable terrain on the other. Cheers for the quick answers!
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

Actually unless I'm mistaken, the IC is still considered part of the squad when you determine who may attack. Meaning that any model within 2 inches of the wolf lord would have been able to make their full attacks. Page 49 of the BRB the second sentence of the second to last paragraph of the left column

When attacks are resolved, however, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit (...) even though they have joined the unit.


Which means that when attacks are made the IC functions on his own, and must himself be in base. However other models in the unit can still use him to measure to for determining who is engaged.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Lone Dragoon wrote:Actually unless I'm mistaken, the IC is still considered part of the squad when you determine who may attack. Meaning that any model within 2 inches of the wolf lord would have been able to make their full attacks. Page 49 of the BRB the second sentence of the second to last paragraph of the left column

When attacks are resolved, however, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit (...) even though they have joined the unit.


Which means that when attacks are made the IC functions on his own, and must himself be in base. However other models in the unit can still use him to measure to for determining who is engaged.


Wrong, they must be within 2" of a model in their unit. Since for combat the IC is a separate unit, they cannot measure to him.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





When determining who can attack, isn't the IC still part of the unit?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If he were, there would be no requirement for the IC to be in b2b.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:If he were, there would be no requirement for the IC to be in b2b.

Except for the IC specific rules that require it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

Happyjew wrote:
Wrong, they must be within 2" of a model in their unit. Since for combat the IC is a separate unit, they cannot measure to him.


For resolving attacks the IC is a separate unit. However the independent character rules are what specifically state that to make attacks with him he must be in base contact which specifically prevents you from measuring from other models to see if it is engaged. However the reverse is not true, because it is part of the unit, until it makes its attacks (Remember determining who can strike is done before resolving the attacks) you still use the IC as part of the squad and any members within two inches of him may make their CC attacks.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




..however, while technically true in RAW, it is *never* plated this way
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Perth Australia

Well it does say that an IC ALWAYS counts as a separate unit in CC. so thats how i think i'll be playing it from here on.

However, i seriously doubt this situation will come up very often anyway.

Thanks for all the discussion guys
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

nosferatu1001 wrote:..however, while technically true in RAW, it is *never* plated this way


don't say never, in the frozen northern reaches of the U.S. (Namely Wisconsin) that's actually how it's been played since the beginning of 5th ed (at least in my town )

Stooge wrote:Well it does say that an IC ALWAYS counts as a separate unit in CC. so thats how i think i'll be playing it from here on.


It only says for resolving attacks that he is a separate unit, for all other purposes in assault he's part of the squad. I.e. Leadership checks, Pile-in moves, Sweeping Advance, so on and so on.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: