Switch Theme:

Can Skimmers Land?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Helpful Sophotect





San Francisco, CA

If a model that is a skimmer clearly comes with landing gear - say, a stormraven rather than a land speeder - can you have the model "land" - that is, remove it from its base and set it directly on the battlefield? It seems to me that it would make sense - the pilot of a hovering anti-gravity vehicle should certainly be able to elevate and lower his craft in order to hide behind terrain or fire over it. It also seems that it wouldn't be unbalancing. The shooting phase comes after the movement phase, so if in order to reap the benefits of a lower position I will loose the benefits of an elevated position until my next turn.

But, I don't know what the official rule is, which is why I have come to you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/19 06:21:55


The 12th Dat'ya Expeditionary Cadre


My P&M blog - in which I chronicle the transformation of a battered windfall of models into an awesome addition to my Blood Angels force (hopefully) - can be found here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431820.page.

======Begin Dakka Code======
DQ:80S+GMB++I+Pw40k11+D++A+/mWD364R+++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Code====== 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Nope, the only time your remove the base is when it becomes immobilized or wrecked. The rules about it are on BRB page 71 under the shooting at skimmers heading.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/19 06:29:30


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Horrific Horror





Southern Oregon

Or wrecked.
The only mention of skimmer height that I can recall is the ramming rule, which says they can dodge a ramming vehicle by flying slightly higher, but that's temporary (the same as moving a model out of the way for tank shock and moving it back afterwards).

4500pts

3000 points under construction
Necron Hello Kitty Project Log:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/420760.page 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Even if the MODEL has landing gear on it, UNLESS it also has the RULES allowing it to land in its profile (either native or as the result of an upgrade), those legs don't count for anything.

AFAIK, only the tau had the ability to do this in the game post 3rd ed - as the result of a vehicle upgrade - but whether or not they still can, I cannot say as my codex went missing.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

If it wasnt repealed in an FAQ the Tau vehicles with landing gear can count as not being a skimmer for a turn if they land. I don't know why you would really want to not be a skimmer for a turn though, you lose the ability to dodge and I can't think of anything you would gain since it doesnt say to remove the flying base and the BRB says you only do that when immobilized or wrecked.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot





I think it had something to do with an older rule that if the skimmer is immobilized it crashes. So the Tau had landing gear, and you could land, and not be a skimmer, so if you were imob you would not crash.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: