Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 19:40:13
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Camouflaged Zero
Where the sun crosses the field of blood.
|
Sooo...
If you win combat, and the enemy does not flee, do you have to restrain?
If you charge a unit and kill it, do you have to restrain to not Overrun?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 19:54:51
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. There's no need to restrain if you win and your enemy does not flee. The winner gets a free combat reform, the loser can make a Ld test to make a combat reform.
2. I believe it depends on how you kill them. If you charge them and wipe them out in CC with attacks, you automatically restrain and get a free reform (page 53). If you break them in combat (i.e., you win CR and they fail the Ld test) you can make a Ld test to restrain (and get a free reform); if you fail, you MUST pursue the enemy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 21:38:06
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Camouflaged Zero
Where the sun crosses the field of blood.
|
Oh god, I accidentally tripple-threaded! Must fix that.
Also, what I'm thinking of is when an opponent win against my Undead in combat. My Undead never flee, they cannot due to Unbreakable. Unstable is what kills them.
Does that mean no opponent ever need to restrain when killing my units? That redirecting is completely impossible as they cannot pursue, and no overrun? Automatically Appended Next Post: D: I don't know how to delete a thread!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/19 21:39:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 22:25:15
Subject: Re:Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Unless they have frenzy, or another special rule that requires them to overrun when winning a combat, then no, vs undead, they will never have to.
Your re-directors are more of a charge blocker. They serve the same purpose for the most part, but in a slightly more limited fashion.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 06:21:55
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Camouflaged Zero
Where the sun crosses the field of blood.
|
Alright, thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 06:57:09
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Battlefield Professional
|
On the turn someone charges you and wipes the unit they can opt to make an overrun. This gives them a free 2d6 move in a straight line.
Example:
My unit of 30 dudes charges your unit of 20 weaker dudes. we fight. I kill 12 and win combat res by 10 for some reason. Your unstable and crumble meaning the entire unit is wiped. Since I charged I can then overrun by 2d6 inches which may actually start a new charge against another unit.
Then on your turn my unit would fight your new unit and I would get the bonus for having charged (including impact hits if I caused them, causing fear and terror and all that).
|
Current Armies:
Warmachine:
Shae Pirate's Life 50
Durgen attrition 50
WH40K:
Orks (5,000 pt Apoc Kan Wall, 1850 Bikerz)
Grey Knights (1850 Crowe Purifiers, 2500 'Ard Boyz Draigo)
Sisters of Battle (Seraphim spam)
WHFB:
2400 Empire
3000 Tomb Kings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 09:55:16
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
An overrun is considered a pursuit to the front as well, to make all overruns a form of pursuit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 10:21:18
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Camouflaged Zero
Where the sun crosses the field of blood.
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:An overrun is considered a pursuit to the front as well, to make all overruns a form of pursuit.
And that's where I grew uncertain. If Overrun is considered a pursuit, and you have to restrain not to pursue... Wouldn't you have to restrain not to Overrun?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 11:46:19
Subject: Re:Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
If you charge and kill the opponent to the man, you have two options. You can take a leadership test to hold or you can overrun the 2d6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 12:25:42
Subject: Re:Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hellstorm wrote:If you charge and kill the opponent to the man, you have two options. You can take a leadership test to hold or you can overrun the 2d6.
NO
Please, check your rulebook before posting a contradictory opinion, it makes things easier.
P58 Overrun! wrote:
....the unit can choose to make a pursuit move
Then you go back to p57:
p57, Restraining Units Reform wrote:..or wiped out the enemy and did not overrun....
So 1) You can choose not to make a pursuit move, as per p58
2) If you did not overrun (you chose not to) you can make a reform
You do not need to test to avoid overrunning, you can simply choose not to
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 02:18:01
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Unless you have frenzy, in which case you can't even test not to overrun, you just have to do it.
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 03:50:45
Subject: Two questions regarding winning combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Malleus wrote:Unless you have frenzy, in which case you can't even test not to overrun, you just have to do it.
You NEVER ever ever test to overrun. You are either required to do it, or you can choose not to.
|
|
 |
 |
|