Switch Theme:

Assaulting Vehicles and the 1" rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk





England, Sunderland, Hetton-Le-Hole

I have been having a discussion over the assualting vehicles and the one inch rule. The one inch rule says that you cannot be within 1" of an enemy unit except from when in the assualt phase. But the assualt vehicles states that "The vehicle an enemy stays where they are where they are simply free to move away in future turns." so as these to rules contradict one and other what happens.

I am saying that you stay where you are and are free to assualt it in your oppnents assault phase providing you are still in base contact. As this is what the rulebook says and is therefore an exception to this rule. Others have said to me that I am incorrect and that it is not exempt from the 1" rule and that you must move 1" away. So who is correct?

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Vehicles (except for Walkers) cannot be locked in cc. This means, on the owning players turn, the vehicle is free to move. If they do not (or cannot) move then in the next assault phase they can be attacked again.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, the 1" rule does NOT say that. It states you may not *move* to within 1" unless during an assault move
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yep, what Nos said.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




As Happy and nos have said, you do not move 1" away. Whoever is telling you that needs to reread the BRB. You are right in thinking that you get to attack the vehicle again in your opponent's assault phase provided that his vehicle doesn't move away.

I believe the BRB also explicitly states that if the vehicle pivots, then any enemy models in base contact are moved out of the way so the vehicle can pivot but are placed back in base contact.
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk





England, Sunderland, Hetton-Le-Hole

Yes they are moved awa but placed back in but we have setteled it now thanks for all your input.

 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator





Washington, D.C.

I think if they move it has to be counted as a Tank Shock movement. That would allow them to move within the 1" of the unit.


4,000 pts of 6th Company Ultramarines
2,500 pts of Necrons 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Marshal_Gus wrote:I believe the BRB also explicitly states that if the vehicle pivots, then any enemy models in base contact are moved out of the way so the vehicle can pivot but are placed back in base contact.


Nope, if a vehicle is surrounded, it can't pivot. Only way to get out of that mess is to Tank Shock your way out.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If the tank pivots, it does not cause a tank shock. However, you could pivot, and declare distance.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nungunz wrote:
Marshal_Gus wrote:I believe the BRB also explicitly states that if the vehicle pivots, then any enemy models in base contact are moved out of the way so the vehicle can pivot but are placed back in base contact.


Nope, if a vehicle is surrounded, it can't pivot. Only way to get out of that mess is to Tank Shock your way out.


Reread page 63, under "Successive Turns" second paragraph.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/20 20:02:54


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wrong. P63 "Successive Turns"

if the vehicle pivots on the spot (to shoot at its attackers, for example), [b]move these models out of the way as you shift the vehicle and then place them back into base contact with the vehicle
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Hey nos, you forgot the "[/b]".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/20 20:05:35


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, entirely so...my bad
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: