Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 13:57:01
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Dipping With Wood Stain
|
I don't know if I've just missed something in the rulebooks somewhere - I always thought that dedicated transports still counted as a separate kill point in KP games, but I just saw someone mention somewhere that they didn't, so now I'm horribly confused.
And if they don't count as a separate kill point - do you have to destroy them AND the unit they're dedicated to before you get the KP? Or is it still just the unit, and the transport doesn't count for jack?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 13:57:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 13:59:09
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
They are seperate kill points as they are seperate units. If someone says otherwise then tell them that the transport must stay within 2" of the infantry unit that bought it and it can only fire at the same thing that the infantry fired at, and vice versa.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 13:59:12
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
I've always played as separate KP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:17:46
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They are a seperate unit, so they are a kill point on their own; it means that armies like Mech DE have ludicrous amounts of KPs on the table sometimes.
The fact it is bought for a unit can confuse people, but Dedicated Transports have no rules other than the one disallowing them to carry any unit other than the one it was bought for at the start of the game.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:26:42
Subject: Re:Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Scrap Thrall
Higher up the tables than you!!!!!!!!!!!!
|
Another thing that a lot of people get wrong, is that in dawn of war deployment a units transport counts as one of the 2 troops you are allowed to deploy. As it is 'units' not 'slots'.
|
Ghostfacekillah has it right, the DoW deployment allows you to deploy 1HQ unit and 2 troop units. A squad of boys is 1 unit, the transport is a second unit, for them to count as a single unit the transport would have to maintain coherency with a squad and be restricted to firing at the same target as the boys, that and it would be impossible for the transport to embark upon itself so the universe would implode if your boys squad attempted to embark. -TheAvengingKnee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:45:20
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
People do get that wrong quite frequently, and it seems to be something that can take some time to get people to understand, even with the rule starring them in the face.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 16:15:31
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Hemel Hempstead
|
So what happens to an IG platoon with say 5 infantry squads in chimeras, hw teams etc in dow?
Also I take it that my boyz squads mounted in battlewagons are royally screwed by dow?
Playing orks v IG this weekend so will be nice to know : )
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 16:17:20
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
rubicant99 wrote:So what happens to an IG platoon with say 5 infantry squads in chimeras, hw teams etc in dow?
Also I take it that my boyz squads mounted in battlewagons are royally screwed by dow?
Playing orks v IG this weekend so will be nice to know : )
The entire platoon can deploy - so all 5 squads, hw teams, etc.
The Chimera's deploying with them is hotly debated. You and your opponent should read the arguments and decide how you're going to play it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 17:34:47
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:They are seperate kill points as they are seperate units. If someone says otherwise then tell them that the transport must stay within 2" of the infantry unit that bought it and it can only fire at the same thing that the infantry fired at, and vice versa.
That would also mean that they are the same unit and cannot embark upon itself therefore if they try to embark the universe would implode - the avenging knee
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 17:35:06
Tournament record: (W/D/L)
Space wolves : 1/1/1
Dark Eldar : 6/0/1 (1 overall win)
Daemons :8/0/2 (1 overall win)
Normal games starting 5/11/12:
Dark Eldar 13/0/1
Daemons 32/1/1
Friends armies 1/0/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 20:23:46
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
rigeld2 wrote:rubicant99 wrote:So what happens to an IG platoon with say 5 infantry squads in chimeras, hw teams etc in dow?
Also I take it that my boyz squads mounted in battlewagons are royally screwed by dow?
Playing orks v IG this weekend so will be nice to know : )
The entire platoon can deploy - so all 5 squads, hw teams, etc.
The Chimera's deploying with them is hotly debated. You and your opponent should read the arguments and decide how you're going to play it.
This is per the new IG FAQ, just in case you weren't aware of it.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 20:42:43
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Grimnarsmate wrote:Leo_the_Rat wrote:They are seperate kill points as they are seperate units. If someone says otherwise then tell them that the transport must stay within 2" of the infantry unit that bought it and it can only fire at the same thing that the infantry fired at, and vice versa.
That would also mean that they are the same unit and cannot embark upon itself therefore if they try to embark the universe would implode - the avenging knee  Well the transport would embark into itself, which means the transport is removed from the table but not destroyed and still exists somewhere on the table inside of itself along with the rest of the squad that is transporting the transport and a squad and so on....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 20:43:44
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 20:56:54
Subject: Re:Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
edit: misclick
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 20:58:31
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/24 08:24:51
Subject: Do dedicated transports count as a separate kill point?
|
 |
Dipping With Wood Stain
|
Righto, thanks for clearing that up for me! Glad I've been getting it right so far, heh.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|