Switch Theme:

Multiple Mindshackles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Just curious what you guys would say:

If a Monstrous Creature assaults a unit of warriors that contain a overlord and a lord that both have mindshackle scarabs - does he:

1 - Need to make two leadership tests
2 - If he fails both, does he deal 1d3 hits to himself twice (so potentially 2d3) or after he fails the first one, the 2nd one is nullified?

MY opinion is:

1 - yes 2 leadership tests as its 2 separate pieces of wargear
2 - He could potentially deal 2d3 wounds due to it again being separate wargear from separate models. No different than the psychotroke grenades the GK's have.

Thanks in advance guys!

Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





1 - Yes 2 LDR checks
2 - 1d3. Once he fails the leadership test he only gets one init step that he can lose to hit himself in the face.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:1 - Yes 2 LDR checks
2 - 1d3. Once he fails the leadership test he only gets one init step that he can lose to hit himself in the face.


Interesting, even if it's randomly rolled? Lets say 8 berzerkers attack with Kharn, and overlord gets his mindshackle off on kharn , and then the lord rolls 1-2 for a berzerker, 2-3 for kharn, 4-5 for another berzerker and gets a 2 and rolls for Kharn - is his mindshackle negated then since Kharn is already mindshackled?

Since the mindshackles work like grenades, and vs GK's, are you only subject to 1 Psychotroke grenade then?

Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Cryage wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:1 - Yes 2 LDR checks
2 - 1d3. Once he fails the leadership test he only gets one init step that he can lose to hit himself in the face.


Interesting, even if it's randomly rolled? Lets say 8 berzerkers attack with Kharn, and overlord gets his mindshackle off on kharn , and then the lord rolls 1-2 for a berzerker, 2-3 for kharn, 4-5 for another berzerker and gets a 2 and rolls for Kharn - is his mindshackle negated then since Kharn is already mindshackled?

I'd say yes.

Since the mindshackles work like grenades, and vs GK's, are you only subject to 1 Psychotroke grenade then?

I don't have the GK codex to form an opinion on this.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

A particularly generous opponent might let you roll d3 twice and suffer the higher of the two. The d3 hits vs self/unit replace that model's normal attacks. You can replace something more than once, but only the last thing you replaced it with will resolve.

As far as the multiple leadership tests, it seems consistent with other leadership/morale/pining tests to require them. I don't think that failing one should pass the 2nd onto a different model.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





foolishmortal wrote:A particularly generous opponent might let you roll d3 twice and suffer the higher of the two. The d3 hits vs self/unit replace that model's normal attacks. You can replace something more than once, but only the last thing you replaced it with will resolve.

As far as the multiple leadership tests, it seems consistent with other leadership/morale/pining tests to require them. I don't think that failing one should pass the 2nd onto a different model.


Nor should it (pass the hit to another model). Guess the benefit would be if kharn passed the first one he'd have to pass a second one. Makes sense that you are replacing that units attacks for that round though.

Cheers!

Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

For psychotroke grenades to affect a unit more than once, they would have to come from different units assaulting. Unless there's a FAQ concerning this I'm not aware of.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Q: Is a unit that assaults, or is assaulted by, multiple
units with rad or psychotroke grenades subjected to
the effects multiple times? (p60-61)
A: No.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
From GK FAQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/24 17:44:24


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: