Switch Theme:

IC's and units that only consist of 1 model  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I thought of an interesting situation and seek some input.

Hive Tyrant (non-IC) joins 1 Tyrant Guard (allowed per rules)
Tyranid Prime (IC) joins the unit as well (as the unit no longer consists solely of 1 model)
Unit suffers 4 wounds, 2 on the tyrant guard, who then fails both saves, killing it.
We are now left with an IC attached to a unit that only consists of 1 model.
What happens?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Happyjew wrote:I thought of an interesting situation and seek some input.

Hive Tyrant (non-IC) joins 1 Tyrant Guard (allowed per rules)
Tyranid Prime (IC) joins the unit as well (as the unit no longer consists solely of 1 model)
Unit suffers 4 wounds, 2 on the tyrant guard, who then fails both saves, killing it.
We are now left with an IC attached to a unit that only consists of 1 model.
What happens?


Internal exception error, cannot process input. Remain calm, Games Workshop technical support personnel will be with you shortly.

BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP. . .

 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Nothing says that an IC can't be in a unit that always consists of a single model, just that they cannot JOIN a unit that always consists of a single model.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So they continue on as normal until the Prime leaves the unit. At that time, he would be unable to rejoin it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/27 22:03:56


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper




The Shieldwall rule allows the HT/SL to join the Tyrant Guard, and the Prime Joins the Tyrant Guard (not the TG + HT), so once the Guard are all dead I would say the group dissolves.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Pedrowan wrote:The Shieldwall rule allows the HT/SL to join the Tyrant Guard, and the Prime Joins the Tyrant Guard (not the TG + HT), so once the Guard are all dead I would say the group dissolves.


Any rules to support that?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
My Join quote is on P48, btw. There is no rule saying you have to leave a unit if you are no longer eligible to be in it. It simply says what kinds of units you cannot JOIN.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/27 22:15:05


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Shield wall allows the Hive Tyrant to Join as though he was an IC.

Once the Guard is dead there is no shield wall, thus the Hive Tyrant no longer counts as being an IC. Since the group doesn't exist anymore and the Tyrant doesn't have IC the Prime is no longer attached.

This is essentially the same thing and an IC attached to a troop unit. Once the troop unit is dead the IC immediately no longer counts as scoring as there is no longer a troop unit they are attached to.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Prime can attach, and no rule makes it leave.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

pretre wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
My Join quote is on P48, btw. There is no rule saying you have to leave a unit if you are no longer eligible to be in it. It simply says what kinds of units you cannot JOIN.


Once the group is dead is cease to be a group. Remember that the IC is attached to the group not the other IC. Once the group is dead you can stay with another IC however once that unit is dead Tyrant's IC is lost therefor they do not stay joined.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

I disagree, they stay as one unit.

Once the tyrant has joined it is now one unit consisting of (tyrant guard + tyrant).

This is now a unit that does not consist of one model.

So the prime can join it.

Since the unit is not destroyed until all the members are destroyed, there is no reason for the prime to need to leave.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The tyrant NEVER EVER EVER has the "IC" rule. Stop saying it does. If it DID have the IC rule while joined, it would make Shieldwall pointless as you could still pick it out through shooting (check your rulebook on this)

There are no rules saying that a legally joined unit must split up. None. You are making this up.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

BlueDagger wrote:Remember that the IC is attached to the group not the other IC.

It attached to the unit.

Nothing forces it to leave a unit it legally joined.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper




kirsanth wrote:
BlueDagger wrote:Remember that the IC is attached to the group not the other IC.

It attached to the unit.

Nothing forces it to leave a unit it legally joined.


I may be wrong here (and honestly, probably am so please say so), but what you're saying here is that once the HT joins the TG, he is now a part of the unit of TG. The Prime joins the group of TG (which now includes the HT). Once the count of TG goes to 0, the HT is still a part of the TG group, and therefore the Prime stays attached to the HT. I guess I can understand that from a RAW view, because if there are no rules to support what happens when a unit runs out of its original members then the joined unit doesn't have anything breaking it apart...

I don't have my rulebook on hand or I'd look, but I'm guessing if the few that have answered haven't pointed it out it's probably not there. Hooray for GW overcomplication, I guess!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: