Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 19:28:44
Subject: Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I just read the following article:
http://www.theruleslawyers.com/2011/09/rulings-baal-predators-smoke-launchers-and-scout-moves/
The analysis seems to make perfect sense so I was wondering if I could use the following tactic with my dominions in a multi-melta immolator:
Deploy as usual
Take scout move for dominion immolator and then pop smoke
Turn 1 for me:
Disembark dominions
Move dominions
Move immolator
Shoot with immolator
Shoot with dominions
Assault with dominions if desired
Turn 1 for opponent:
Immolator gains 4+ cover save during opponent's shooting phase because it popped smoke after scout move.
Before you respond to this post, please be sure to read the linked article.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/29 20:02:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 19:34:40
Subject: Re:Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Yep, it's legal. Might get you some rage across the tabletop, though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 19:55:33
Subject: Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
mgraham wrote:Disembark dominions
Move immolator
Move dominions
Nope.
You disembark the unit on board the transport during their movement. Once you then move on to another unit (in this case the immolator) the Dominions' movement is finished. You can not go back afterwards and move them further.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 19:59:29
Subject: Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I thought if the transport hadn't moved you could disembark, and move both the unit and the transport.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:00:30
Subject: Re:Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
You can, but the order has to be disembark, move disembarked unit, THEN move the transport. If you move the transport, you can't then go back and move the disembarked unit; you have to do every unit's movement all at once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:01:13
Subject: Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
Happyjew wrote:I thought if the transport hadn't moved you could disembark, and move both the unit and the transport.
You can. But, you still can only move one unit at a time.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:01:51
Subject: Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Sorry, I thought insaniak was saying if you disembark you cannot move further.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:03:51
Subject: Re:Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Ok, edited original post to change order in which models are moved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:10:43
Subject: Re:Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Sounds like a long-winded question to simply ask:
Do I get cover from popping smoke in the scout move, even if I have turn 1?
RAW, yes you do, but as it has already been mentioned, you're probably gonna get a groan or a "Really?" coming from the other side of the table.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/29 20:21:50
Subject: Re:Can sisters of battle dominions w/ immolator use baal pred tactic?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
puma713 wrote:Sounds like a long-winded question to simply ask:
Do I get cover from popping smoke in the scout move, even if I have turn 1?
I would phrase the "shortened" question like this:
If I pop smoke after my scout move, can I shoot during my shooting phase of turn 1 and also receive a 4+ cover save during my opponent's turn 1 shooting phase?
puma713 wrote:
RAW, yes you do, but as it has already been mentioned, you're probably gonna get a groan or a "Really?" coming from the other side of the table.
Yeah, I think you're right here. I think I'll play like this: If I pop smoke, I cannot shoot during my subsequent shooting phase and receive a 4+ cover during my opponent's subsequent shooting phase.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/29 20:31:11
|
|
 |
 |
|