Switch Theme:

Maxed Unit Size and IC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nashville - The Music City

Okay quick question here.....can an Independent Character join a unit if the unit is at its max size?

Example....can a Warboss or Big Mek join a mob of 30 boys? I think so, but I don't have my role book in front of me to check all the Indepentent Character rules for joining a unit.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes.

the max size is the maximum you ae allowed to purchase. It does not limit your ability to join units to it during the game
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, they have permission to join a unit and nothing that denies that based on max unit size.

Unless the max unit size is 1 - then they are unable to join as the unit can only ever exist as a single model.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator





Wherever the Emperor commands.

rigeld2 wrote:...
Unless the max unit size is 1 - then they are unable to join as the unit can only ever exist as a single model.


most 1 unit guys are independent characters
An IC can always join another IC (so in theory you could have a squad of IC's running around)

even if it is 1 guy it is still a unit, so an IC can still join it.

unless it says that they cannot be joined by an IC, such as guardsmen marbo.


but, to answer the OP
yes, the warboss can be with the boys

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 18:06:37


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





ZOMBIE CAT wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:...
Unless the max unit size is 1 - then they are unable to join as the unit can only ever exist as a single model.


most 1 unit guys are independent characters

False - many monstrous creatures are 1 model units (Hive Tyrant, Mawloc, Trygon, Tyrannofex, Tervigon)
An IC can always join another IC (so in theory you could have a squad of IC's running around)

Yes - because there's a specific allowance for it.

even if it is 1 guy it is still a unit, so an IC can still join it.

False.
BRB page 48 wrote:They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons
(see the Vehicles section) and units that always
consist of a single model (like most vehicles and
monstrous creatures).


unless it says that they cannot be joined by an IC, such as guardsmen marbo.

Marbo only restates what the BRB does.


but, to answer the OP
yes, the warboss can be with the boys

Correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
ZOMBIE CAT wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:...
Unless the max unit size is 1 - then they are unable to join as the unit can only ever exist as a single model.


most 1 unit guys are independent characters

False - many monstrous creatures are 1 model units (Hive Tyrant, Mawloc, Trygon, Tyrannofex, Tervigon)


The underlined is partially incorrect.

The Hive Tyrant can be a 1 model unit, but he can also be a unit of more than one model, since the Tyrant Guard and the Hive Tyrant can be a single unit.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
ZOMBIE CAT wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:...
Unless the max unit size is 1 - then they are unable to join as the unit can only ever exist as a single model.


most 1 unit guys are independent characters

False - many monstrous creatures are 1 model units (Hive Tyrant, Mawloc, Trygon, Tyrannofex, Tervigon)


The underlined is partially incorrect.

The Hive Tyrant can be a 1 model unit, but he can also be a unit of more than one model, since the Tyrant Guard and the Hive Tyrant can be a single unit.

Right - I find that's debatable enough to say that an IC can't join unless the TG are around. If an IC joins and the TG are nuked, the Tyrant/IC squad doesn't break, but he can't re-join if they split up.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Really?

The language is pretty clear in this case.

An IC can not join a unit that always consists of a single model.

The Hive Tyrant does not "always consist of a single model" therefore an IC could join a Hive Tyrant even if there were no Tyrant Guard on the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 19:28:47


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DeathReaper wrote:Really?

The language is pretty clear in this case.

An IC can not join a unit that always consists of a single model.

The Hive Tyrant does not "always consist of a single model" therefore an IC could join a Hive Tyrant even if there were no Tyrant Guard on the table.

I think it's an issue with the half retinue that is the Tyrant/Tyrant Guard.

If I choose not to take any TG can the Prime still join the Tyrant?
There's explicit permission for ICs to join ICs, and since the Tyrant isn't really an IC it gets grey for me.
No big deal either way - it happens so rarely it's not worth discussing.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes

Because there are times when the Ht isnt a unit of one model, he isnt "always" a unit consisting of one model - by definition.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Shrug. I understand that point, but the Tyrant is only ever one model if I don't take any Guard.

Note that that's different from a Carnifex - the Carnifex Brood has the potential for multiple models. The Hive Tyrant never does. The Tyrant Brood is a separate unit that the Tyrant can (but not must) join as a special rule.

Like I said - I think I've only cared about this one time ever (winged Tyrant so no Guard, thought about attaching a Prime during the game to grab some sweet cover, decided not to, decided to think about it after the game) and it's not a game changing ruling... just my thoughts on the subject.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That same argument can be used against the fex - if you dont decide to buy any more fex in that brood for that game he is only ever one model

Just because its from a different choice does not invalidate that the HT is NOT a unit that ALWAYS consists of one model
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So we are agreed that an IC can join a Hive Tyrant/Swarmlord even when there are no tyrant guard?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nashville - The Music City

Alright gang thanks for the help. 30 boys plus an IC is legal unless there is a codex based special rule dictating otherwise. Got it. Thanks again for the help.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Happyjew wrote:So we are agreed that an IC can join a Hive Tyrant/Swarmlord even when there are no tyrant guard?

Yes
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: