Switch Theme:

Choosing powers of the hive mind for zoantrophes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

Hi all, a friend of mine was just curious about wether one may choose the same psychic power for the (a) zoantrophe twice. We couldn't find any constraining rule and the german RAW are like: 'The zoantrophe always has the hive power "warpfield" as his first one, he must have a second power of the hive mind from the list below and may even choose a third' (please excuse my poor translation, I'd be grateful to know the actual english wording if wasn't forbidden to post copyrighted stuff...), suggesting that it would be possible to equip him with "psychic scream" twice (since it is a passive power, and stacks), thus leading to an extraordinary tough psychic choir that would be hard to deal with. Am I missing something? If so, please provide me with the corresponding pages of the 4th Ed and/or the 'original' english dex wording in case it's of any more use!

 


'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


There is no RAW restrcition against choosing the same power.

However, the wording of Pyshcic Scream itself offers no extra benefit to a creature who takes it more than once:

"Any enemy units with models within 18 [inches] of a creature with this power suffer a -1 to all Leadership tests. If several creatures with the Psychic Scream power are within range of the unit, the modifiers are cumulative."


So in short, there is absolutely no reason for a Zoanthrope to take more than one Psychic Scream.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

Oh hey, I must have somehow overlooked that bit of info.
Thank you, that is exactly what I was looking for!

'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: