Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 02:41:54
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne
Oklahoma
|
Title says it all. If a flamer is out of range..can you still drop the template aimed at the target?
Say you have a leman russ with a hull mounted heavy flamer...a target out in front...but also another unit right on front of the tank...if you fire at the unit out in front with the main gun...does the template still drop to hit the unit right on front of said tank?
|
Can't you see we have been abandoned? Forget matters of duty and honor to the emperor this is now a matter of pride. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 02:43:29
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
No. Out of range = Automatic miss.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 03:44:32
Subject: Re:If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Agreed. Out of range is always an automatic miss. Doesn't matter if you clip another unit with the template, it the primary target is out of range you can't do a thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 04:59:55
Subject: Re:If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The weapon still fires, it just doesn't hit anything since the target is out of range. The only case where the difference means anything is if you used a one-shot weapon - it's now spent and you missed automatically.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 14:17:27
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Auto-miss. I encountered this when trying to use a tyrranofex in the same way - shoot the rupture cannon at a tank 48" away while dropping dessicator larvae on infantry right in front of me. I was schooled that this is an invalid tactic at that point in time. Would be nice, though.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 15:30:22
Subject: Re:If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
The only case where the difference means anything is if you used a one-shot weapon - it's now spent and you missed automatically.
Actually the C'tann power Lord of Fire is another case where this matters. The flamer still fires and is subject to the roll on the Lord of Fire. Not that anyone rocks a C'tann with LoF
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 15:47:02
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Additionally, units like NDK who can place the template out 12" will not be able to place it if the target unit isn't within 12", even if the end of the template would hit them. At least that's how it was ruled in our local GT.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 16:00:34
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
hyv3mynd wrote:Additionally, units like NDK who can place the template out 12" will not be able to place it if the target unit isn't within 12", even if the end of the template would hit them. At least that's how it was ruled in our local GT.
That doesn't make sense, and I don't think has any rules basis.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 16:10:25
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
What about a template weapon that has no chance of hurting the target, can it still hit other units under the template?
Example: SW Rune priest uses thunder clap on a Leman Russ with a vet squad in front of it. He still wants to charge the tank so instead of shooting at the guys, he shoots at the tank that has no chance of hurting it. BUT the template still hits the guys under the template, clearing them out, and letting him assault the tank anyway....
Seemed legit when it happened to me, but there is some cheese in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 16:29:59
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
sfshilo wrote:What about a template weapon that has no chance of hurting the target, can it still hit other units under the template?
Example: SW Rune priest uses thunder clap on a Leman Russ with a vet squad in front of it. He still wants to charge the tank so instead of shooting at the guys, he shoots at the tank that has no chance of hurting it. BUT the template still hits the guys under the template, clearing them out, and letting him assault the tank anyway....
Seemed legit when it happened to me, but there is some cheese in there.
That's legal. You're allowed to shoot anything at anything, so long as you fulfill the basic requirements of being within range and having LOS; whether you can actually hurt the target or not is irrelevant.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 16:42:06
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Gah, right you are - and it makes a difference for Plasma too as you still have to check for Gets Hot! ;-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 16:42:14
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You are also required to cover as much of the target unit as possible.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 18:02:14
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
hyv3mynd wrote:Additionally, units like NDK who can place the template out 12" will not be able to place it if the target unit isn't within 12", even if the end of the template would hit them. At least that's how it was ruled in our local GT.
No rules basis for that whatsoever
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 18:05:07
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My bad then. I was playing a dude from canada that's been playing way longer than me and the call was backed by the judge who's a very well known player from boston. I tried to find something related to the hellhound but its not in the FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 18:06:32
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It has range "template" still, with a special rule as to how you place the template. The only requirement for being in range is if the unit can be caught by the template, and you can place the template up to 12" away to do so
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:14:50
Subject: If a flamer is out of range..does it still fire?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
hyv3mynd wrote:Additionally, units like NDK who can place the template out 12" will not be able to place it if the target unit isn't within 12", even if the end of the template would hit them. At least that's how it was ruled in our local GT.
They ruled wrong.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|