Switch Theme:

Independent Characters, Transports, And area effect rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





cedar rapids, iowa

Example: Strakkan has a 12" range that causes friendly units to have counter attack and furious charge. If he's a chimera does it still apply?

Psychic cover save powers in transports still work right? Isn't this similar?

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Yes and yes. Someone will be along shortly to give you an exact page number.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

I am very curious about this and would appreciate page references. I am trying to find some sort of pattern in how GW rules on things being "on the table"

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




---EDIT---

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/02 07:38:40


2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




West Chester, PA

This should not be compared to psychic powers as it is a special rule. The answer can be found in the 40K Rulebook FAQ v.1.5

Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.

Straken's special rule does not need line of sight and therefore can be used while embarked.

If a special rule needs LOS than it cannot be used while embarked.

The Mechanicon 2015 Back to our roots - October 23-35, West Chester, PA 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Tironum wrote:

If a special rule needs LOS than it cannot be used while embarked.


Which is, from memory, three Special Rules: Coteaz' I've Been Expecting You, Anrakyr's Mind in the Machine and a couple of Njal's powers during his Lord of Tempests rule.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Page 66, measure to or from embarked units by measuring to the hull
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

Thank you nos. That reference sums it up nicely.

2nd column, last sentence in the second paragraph for the curious.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





cedar rapids, iowa

Awesome thanks guys, seemed like an oddity that comes up quite a bit.

So if you need to see the object you are using your special rule on, you cannot use a rule inside a dedicated transport.

What about transports with fire points, can LOS special power be used then? (Or are the fire points ONLY for shooting?)

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Fire points are only for shooting and psychic powers.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

There was some new language in the GW Jan 2012 BRB faq on this.

Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.

The above, combined with the rules on psyker powers (shooting and non-shooting) used while in transports, and the range measuring rules on p66 BRB (Embarking) seem to fit together nicely. I haven't found any holes yet, and I have been poking them with a stick.


"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






While this gets brought up a bit
Page 66, measure to or from embarked units by measuring to the hull
please note that it also says 'if you need to measure range to/from an embarked unit' right before that. Now, straken lists no ability to allow measuring from a vehicle. Other special rules, however, DO mention being allowed to be used from a vehicle. Scoring, for example, gives explicit permission to measure from a vehicle. Thus my default position is that you need permission to measure range to/from embarked units, not just a special rule that 'could' reach them.

Case in point was the Tyranid FAQ. If you are allowed to measure range, why does the Doom of Malantai not work, if Straken does? Both would use the exact same rule to give an effect to/from an embarked unit.

Now, in the past, GW was very clear that abilites dont work in vehicles unless they say they do. In 5th, they never made a cut and dry statement, and have flip/floped on the issue with FAQ rulings. In the leak for 6th, despite authenticity, it is back to a blanket 'no' for abilities in vehicles.

However, everyone just plays 5th that anything they want works to/from vehicles (at least until the GW faq regarding LOS came out, limiting, what, 5 total rules?), unless something 'percieved' silly comes along, like Doom. For as much gnashing of teeth Doom may have caused, any argument againt Doom working is the same argument against Straken working or Pedro's +1 attack bubble working.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"If you need to measure range" gives blanket permission.

Doom doesnt work in vehicles for a more sensible reason - units inside vehicles cant be directly affected by outside shooting-type powers
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The rule of thumb that seems to universally apply is that it requires VERY special and explicit permission to do something into a transport, but that doing something out of a transport is allowed unless specifically disallowed/limited by rule or faq.

I am a grammar Nazi only because grammar democracy is ineffective. 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

No, it's pretty specific both ways, it's just that there are more exceptions to what what you can do from inside a transport than there are to something inside a transport.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: