Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 20:31:32
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
I'm looking into taking him in a foot heavy list that I'm writing, however I have some questions about his "Like the Wind" order. In the codex, all it says is "If the order is successfully issued, the ordered unit immediately makes a shooting attack (it may not run) When this has been resolved, the unit immediately moves d6 inches in a direction of your choice."
Now I have a few questions with this.
1. Does "Shooting attack" mean that any weapons with abilities like Rapid Fire and the like still get to use them? For example, 20 guardsmen blob within 12 inches of its target gets to make its 40 Rapid Fire lasgun shots.
2. If I have a blob with 30 men and 3 meltas for example, am I allowed to only fire the 3 meltas, then use the d6" move to get me in range to assault that turn? For example, shooting a transport with the meltas, then closing the distance with the d6 move, and assaulting what comes out of it during that turn's assault phase. I dont think this is possible, but I'd like to doublecheck anyways.
3. If you moved your full movement allotment and ended within 1" of an enemy unit, would you automatically get locked into assault?
I'm still learning the game, so I'm probably missing some huge caveat in the rules. I dont have the rulebook yet so I've just been memorizing the rules from the book everytime I go to the FLGS.
Thanks for any help you can give guys!
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 20:45:40
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Nervous Accuser
|
As far as I know 1 and 2 are correct, but not 3 as you can only break the 1" rule in the assault phase or where otherwise noted (like tankshock). Another thing to remember you can do, not move in the movement phase, like the wind and have someone shoot heavy weapons or long range rapidfire and get a free d6" move, you just cant assault that turn. Its good for shifting slightly while still shooting, like into cover your next to or away from incoming enemies.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/02 20:50:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 20:46:26
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
MrMoustaffa wrote:
1. Does "Shooting attack" mean that any weapons with abilities like Rapid Fire and the like still get to use them? For example, 20 guardsmen blob within 12 inches of its target gets to make its 40 Rapid Fire lasgun shots.
Yes. And actually firing two shots at 12" or less with a rapid fire is a requirement. It's not "you may fire two shots" it's "you must fire two shots". You don't have a choice in the matter.
2. If I have a blob with 30 men and 3 meltas for example, am I allowed to only fire the 3 meltas, then use the d6" move to get me in range to assault that turn? For example, shooting a transport with the meltas, then closing the distance with the d6 move, and assaulting what comes out of it during that turn's assault phase. I dont think this is possible, but I'd like to doublecheck anyways.
This works.
3. If you moved your full movement allotment and ended within 1" of an enemy unit, would you automatically get locked into assault?
You may not move to within an inch of an enemy model except during the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 20:52:18
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
In #2, if the d6" move is "Run", then no. You cannot run and shoot with a single unit.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 20:55:17
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
kirsanth wrote:In #2, if the d6" move is "Run", then no. You cannot run and shoot with a single unit.
He says that the Al'Rahem order lets you shoot and make a d6 move... IE combining run and shoot. That's the d6 move he's talking about
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 21:12:50
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
The way I often hear this order described is that it essentially gives your unit "Fleet". However I play IG, and since the only thing we have with fleet is Marbo, I'm not very familiar with how that rule works.
On the #2 question I had. This means if I'm within 12 inches, I can shoot ONLY my 3 meltas if I want (no rapid fire lasguns) which then allows me to do the d6" move, and then assault correct?
Reason why I'm so concerned about this is because this is the main reason I wanted to take him. Have a blob shoot a transport and then assault the squad inside of it with PW, or melta bomb a second vehicle nearby would be incredibly useful for my foot list as mobility is a big challenge. Being able to flank a really mean platoon in like this would really help.
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 21:15:13
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Though I'm curious, does the d6 move count as a run? If it does then unless IG have fleet, they would not be able to assault after moving.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:05:08
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Though I'm curious, does the d6 move count as a run? If it does then unless IG have fleet, they would not be able to assault after moving.
The Move, Move, Move order counts as a run.
Like the Wind does not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:12:25
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Essentially, a unit that gets this order gets to shoot whatever it wants as normal, but then has the fleet special rule in the same phase.
The rule says that "you may not run", insinuating that the following D6 move is not a run.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:47:12
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
One last question and then I'm done. If you fire lasguns (or any rapid fire weapon) at a range outside of its 12" rapid fire range where it only gets one shot, does that still count as a rapid fire and prevent you from assaulting?
For example if you shot lasguns at a model 20" away (thereby not allowing them to rapid fire) and then trying to assault a unit 3" away during that same turn's assault phase. Is this legal as well?
Sorry about all these questions but the last game I played I screwed myself over by forgetting certain rules that gave my guys advantages and I really don't want to repeat that mistake again.
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:49:55
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MrMoustaffa wrote:One last question and then I'm done. If you fire lasguns (or any rapid fire weapon) at a range outside of its 12" rapid fire range where it only gets one shot, does that still count as a rapid fire and prevent you from assaulting?
You're firing a rapid fire weapon. Firing a rapid fire weapon means you can't assault.
The range/number of shots is irrelevant - its the weapon type (Heavy, RF, Assault) that determines assault ability.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:49:59
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
You still count as firing the lasguns, so can't assault.
Not to mention, you have to assault what you shoot at.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 22:55:52
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Ah ok that makes sense. So even if I shot and blew up a leman Russ for example, I couldn't assault a chimera next to my guys that same turn.
Thanks guys this cleared up a lot of questions I had about how this kind of stuff works. Can't wait to give Al'Rahem a go my next match!
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 23:27:57
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You could but that gets into the whole multi-assault thing which someone else can go into more detail if they want.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 23:38:57
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:You could but that gets into the whole multi-assault thing which someone else can go into more detail if they want.
No you can't, you still have to declare the primary target as the one you shot at. You can't do a multi-assault until after the first model has moved into B2B with the target. Since the Russ would have been destroyed there is no primary target to declare an assault against.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 23:44:53
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Unless the Russ, was carrying a unit of course. I don't play IG so I don't know if they can carry units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/02 23:46:08
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/02 23:48:21
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Unless the Russ, was carrying a unit of course.
I don't play IG so I don't know if they can carry units.
Russ is just a giant tank
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 00:41:22
Subject: Rule question about Al'Rahem
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yeah ok this makes a lot more sense. I've got the idea of it now, thanks guys!
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
|