Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 08:23:24
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My friend told me that there was something in the FAQ that made it to where the Traveler didn't get to use Mind of the Mac. from the CCB anymore.
Is this True? If so what makes it so?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 08:34:16
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
The only thing I found with regards to Mind in the Machine is that the vehicle can't fire at itself, other than that I don't see what it is that your friend is on about?
maybe you should check the FAQ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 08:44:56
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It's in the BRB faq. You can't use non shooting abilities that require LoS out of vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:15:39
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
non-shooting, non-psychic powers.
MitM is neither of these, meaning you have no ability to draw LOS from the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:34:38
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
So BRB FAQ not Necron?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/03 09:37:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:40:07
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:42:59
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes.
I take it you mean this:
Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.
You do realise that it states Fire points, CCB is OPEN topped, so does it still count?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/03 09:43:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:44:43
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Find any rules in Open Topped allowing you to draw LOS for anything other than shooting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 09:53:22
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Find any rules in Open Topped allowing you to draw LOS for anything other than shooting.
Without my Rulebook in front of me is there anything in them that states they don't? So far it only seems to state fire points and they are normally stated in the profile of the vehicle of how many you get (ie: the Rhino has 2), as it specifically states in the FAQ it disallows it from fire points and nothing mentions open topped I'd think it needs to be addressed in another FAQ that takes into account the CCB in that case.
I may be wrong, but it looks like it's permissible still to me.
Edit: Also is there any other vehicles in 40K that you can launch an assault from that you don't have to disembark to initiate other than the CCB?
Edit 2: never mind Sweep attack is not Assault (just checked FAQ) but is there anything similar to it?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/03 10:00:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 10:02:40
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Philld77 wrote:Edit: Also is there any other vehicles in 40K that you can launch an assault from that you don't have to disembark to initiate other than the CCB?
If you are referring to a CCB's sweep attacks, those are not close combat attacks, nor do they happen during the assault phase.
And I believe Ork Battlewagon is the answer to the question you were trying to ask.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 10:04:35
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
@philld77 I had the same problem accepting this. We had a heated debate about this in this forum. I ended up asking the faq team about it. Unfortunately OT vehicles are to be treated as one big firepoint. It game me a stroke but since my lists must be legit, I accepted it and moved on. No Anrakyr for me now :(
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/03 10:05:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 10:14:19
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
@foolishmortal: Thanks for that I was having trouble there remembering.
@copper.talos: That being the case it does seem to be a bit of a downer, it seems that the CCB is good for some things but for others it can be disadvantageous to use.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 10:22:31
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
I think there might be an Eldar or DE OT transport with a similar rule, but I am not certain.
The Ork Battlewagon has an option "boarding plank"
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 13:16:51
Subject: Re:FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
IVO Washington DC
|
Not an Ork player here.. but does the KFF require LOS?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 13:18:17
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
No, it's an area effect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 13:58:45
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
How does this BRB FAQ affect Solar Pulses?
Also can they be used from inside Night Scythes? They don't require LOS so i would think yes.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 15:12:14
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Phild - you need permission to do something before you can do it. Thats how the rules are constructed.
There are no rules for drawing LOS from an Open Topped vehicle apart from shooting from it. So even if you dont believe they have firepoints (they have no specific firepoint; that is NOT the same as saying they have NO firepoints) you still need to find permission to draw LOS for non-shooting from an open topped vehicle, having been told you cannot do so using Firepoints
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/03 19:08:57
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
@nosferatu1001: I think copper.talos got a ruling that open topped counts as just one large firepoint, so it sort of makes it pretty clear that it's going to be more like it states in the BRB FAQ, to me if I was playing against someone I would have allowed it, but that was before we got into it.
To be quite honest it hamstrings Anrakyr in one way but all I'd do is disembark him in the next turn after doing a sweep attack then have a go with Mind in the Machine in the next with anything that survived.
Thanks though for your input, it's nice to be able to get others points of view (and in my case learn from my mistakes  ).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/04 02:29:41
Subject: Re:FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does this mean that eldar can't cast guide and fortune inside of a tank?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/04 02:31:48
Subject: Re:FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
bladedragon03 wrote:Does this mean that eldar can't cast guide and fortune inside of a tank?
No. The FAQ ruling is about special rules and wargear. It has nothing to do with psychic powers.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/04 12:45:49
Subject: Re:FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
bladedragon03 wrote:Does this mean that eldar can't cast guide and fortune inside of a tank?
The BRB FAQ already allows psychic powers inside a vehicle, and for those that need LOS to use firepoints
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/05 07:27:13
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
And neither guide nor fortune need LOS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 00:42:02
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does this rule screw anyone else other than necrons?
Because the Traveler and Nemesor are screwed out of two abilities now if they are in a vec.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 00:52:41
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Njal comes to mind immediately. And Coteaz.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 16:35:27
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is that it? What army are they in?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 16:57:37
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
SW and GK respectively. I don't know about others without looking.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 17:12:04
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cant think of any others from the top of my head.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 17:24:39
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
However, the only unit that can benefit from a farseer casting Fortune and Guide would be the unit inside the tank.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 18:07:03
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
You can use guide & fortune on vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/06 18:09:43
Subject: FAQ about the Traveler
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Good point, forgot only Doom cannot be used on a vehicle.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|