Switch Theme:

C'tan's Gaze of Death  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

We talked about it, but I don't think there was a dakka consensus.

Are the hits from a necron C'tan's Gaze of Death ability CC hits? Can you take cover saves from them if you were in area terrain?

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Seriously, the other thread is 3 days old.
I don't have the Necron book, but from what I remember it is not a CC hit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"other blows" defines it as a "blow" and context means "blow" is a close combat attack
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The hits don't count towards combat resolution, they do not happen in initiative order, hit friend and foe alike...

That does not say "Oh, of course it's a close combat attack!"

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

Possible wounds from Gaze of Death happen, in the Assault Phase, "after all other blows" but before combat resolution (granted, it doesn't count towards CR, but GW telling us they don't count means they must happen before).

I would consider it a close combat attack. There are other close combat abilities that can wound friend or foe, Kharn jumps to mind, demon weapons, for that matter as well,

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





ToBeWilly wrote:Possible wounds from Gaze of Death happen, in the Assault Phase, "after all other blows" but before combat resolution (granted, it doesn't count towards CR, but GW telling us they don't count means they must happen before).

I would consider it a close combat attack. There are other close combat abilities that can wound friend or foe, Kharn jumps to mind, demon weapons, for that matter as well,

And those count for CR. And I'm not convinced that not counting for CR means that they must happen before CR. Unless the Codex says when the attack happens, of course.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yes but if they happened after combat resolution, and one of the 2 units falls back, how would gaze of death work?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I'll have to bow out, not having the codex to be able to further my argument.

Can't wait for tax money to come so I can re-buy them all. Stupid thieves.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It's OK, I own Eldar and Tyranids. My brother has SM and Tau. Occasionally, my buddy leaves IG and/or GK at my place. I just go off what is posted. People post things wrong, I leap to the wrong conclusion.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:It's OK, I own Eldar and Tyranids. My brother has SM and Tau. Occasionally, my buddy leaves IG and/or GK at my place. I just go off what is posted. People post things wrong, I leap to the wrong conclusion.

Yeah - I have been doing the same recently, but I've been "caught wrong" one too many times, and I don't see the rules for GoD posted anywhere... so I'm just going to pass on this.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

@ rigeld2

Gaze Of Death
In the Assault phase, after all other blows in the C'tan Shard's
combat have been struck, center the large blast marker on
the C'tan Shard. All other models beneath the marker (friend
or foe) suffer a Strength 3 hit with no armour saves allowed.
If the C'tan Shard causes one or more unsaved Wounds in
this manner, it regains one Wound lost earlier in the battle.
These Wounds do not count towards combat resolution.


The C'tan Shard must be locked into combat in order to use Gaze of Death. You can't use it anywhere else in the game. Therefore, by definition, they are close combat attacks.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

ToBeWilly wrote:@ rigeld2
The C'tan Shard must be locked into combat in order to use Gaze of Death. You can't use it anywhere else in the game. Therefore, by definition, they are close combat attacks.


I do think that they are CC attacks (and thus no cover saves), but not because of the above reason. The timing of the attack (before combat resolution) could more to do with making it effective (before people run away).

In the end, it's the "all other blows" phrase that tips the balance for me. It's close though. If my opponent asked for a cover save, I would probably give it, or at least roll.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: