Switch Theme:

Monstrous Creatures...Independent?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





I did some looking but couldnt find it in this forum...so this question may be dumb to most of you but...

Can I mix a monstrous creature with a unit of infantry? For example, if I had Eldrad Ulthran with 3 Farseers, can they join an Avatar of Khaine as a unit? I didnt see anything specific in the rulebook.

"So cash in your blanks for little toy tanks. Learn how to use them and abuse them, choose them over conversations..." Jack Johnson

2500 Points
2500 Points 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Independent Characters may never join a unit that always consists of one model.

As far as I know only Carnifexes and Necron Spiders can have an IC join them.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Pg 48 under Independant Characters Joining & Leaving Units:

"Independant Characters are allowed to join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons ... and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and Monstrous Creatures). They can join other independant characters though..."

Unless your Avatar is also an IC, you can't join him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/04 06:19:12


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Avatars aren't independent characters and are units that only ever consist of one model so ICs can't join them. Don't have the rule book handy, but it's stated fairly clearly in the rules for joining and leaving units.
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Ah that makes sense. Didnt see that one. So Monstrous Creatures are considered single model units only. Thanks!

"So cash in your blanks for little toy tanks. Learn how to use them and abuse them, choose them over conversations..." Jack Johnson

2500 Points
2500 Points 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Captain_Obvious wrote:Ah that makes sense. Didnt see that one. So Monstrous Creatures are considered single model units only. Thanks!


Depends on the MC. See my above examples.
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

Captain_Obvious wrote:So Monstrous Creatures are considered single model units only. Thanks!


Not all MC are units of only one. Canoptek Spyders, for example, can be a unit of between 1 and 3 models. So, therefore, it is not a unit that can only consist of one model, but still a MC.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





My primary reason for asking that question was for my example of Farseer + Warlocks joining Avatar but thanks!

"So cash in your blanks for little toy tanks. Learn how to use them and abuse them, choose them over conversations..." Jack Johnson

2500 Points
2500 Points 
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

Warlocks aren't ICs. It's the Farseer joining them using the IC rules.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Captain_Obvious wrote:My primary reason for asking that question was for my example of Farseer + Warlocks joining Avatar but thanks!


As above. Warlocks are not 'joined' to the Farseer unless you wish them to be. Warlocks are a separate unit.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Warlocks are bought with the Farseer as a single HQ choice. I do understand they are not IC.

"So cash in your blanks for little toy tanks. Learn how to use them and abuse them, choose them over conversations..." Jack Johnson

2500 Points
2500 Points 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are a single choice, but nothing compels you to join the warlocks to the farseer ; they are simply a unit you can take that is "unlocked' by taking the farseer, counts in the HQ slot without taking any of the slots up
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Nungunz wrote:Independent Characters may never join a unit that always consists of one model.

As far as I know only Carnifexes and Necron Spiders can have an IC join them.


And Hive Tyrants. They are always bought as a unit of 1 model, however, since they can join Tyrant Guards, another IC could technically join the Hive Tyrant.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:And Hive Tyrants. They are always bought as a unit of 1 model, however, since they can join Tyrant Guards, another IC could technically join the Hive Tyrant.


That is wrong. Hive Tyrants are not ICs and they are always in units of one. Tyrant Guard are a completely separate entry. Now there's nothing wrong with an IC joining a Tyrant Guard Brood that also has a Hive Tyrant.....but they may not just attach to the Tyrant.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Nungunz wrote:
Happyjew wrote:And Hive Tyrants. They are always bought as a unit of 1 model, however, since they can join Tyrant Guards, another IC could technically join the Hive Tyrant.


That is wrong. Hive Tyrants are not ICs and they are always in units of one. Tyrant Guard are a completely separate entry. Now there's nothing wrong with an IC joining a Tyrant Guard Brood that also has a Hive Tyrant.....but they may not just attach to the Tyrant.

Wait, nevermind...I misread your post.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/04 18:00:29


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nungunz wrote:
Happyjew wrote:And Hive Tyrants. They are always bought as a unit of 1 model, however, since they can join Tyrant Guards, another IC could technically join the Hive Tyrant.


That is wrong. Hive Tyrants are not ICs and they are always in units of one. Tyrant Guard are a completely separate entry. Now there's nothing wrong with an IC joining a Tyrant Guard Brood that also has a Hive Tyrant.....but they may not just attach to the Tyrant.


Wrong. HT are not *always* units consisting of one model, because they can be incorporated into a unit consisting of, in total, 2 - 4 models.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Nos, they changed the way Hive Tyrants and their Guard work in the FAQ. At the start of a game, a Hive Tyrant is either always by itself, and can never join anything, or it is always a member of a Tyrant Guard unit, The unit "Hive Tyrant" always consists of a single model. The unit "Tyrant Guard" either consists of 1-3 Tyrant Guard, or 1-3 Tyrant Guard and a Hive Tyrant.
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

If a Hive Tyrant can be in a unit that has more models then just the Hive Tyrant, it is not always a unit of one model. Regardless of what it's called.


“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

A Hive Tyrant can be with more models, but more models can't be with Hive Tyrant, if that makes sense.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MasterSlowPoke wrote:A Hive Tyrant can be with more models, but more models can't be with Hive Tyrant, if that makes sense.


The change only limits *when* the HT can join. It does not alter that a Hive Tyrant is not *always* a unit consisting of one model - because it isnt always a unit of one model.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MasterSlowPoke wrote:Nos, they changed the way Hive Tyrants and their Guard work in the FAQ. At the start of a game, a Hive Tyrant is either always by itself, and can never join anything, or it is always a member of a Tyrant Guard unit, The unit "Hive Tyrant" always consists of a single model. The unit "Tyrant Guard" either consists of 1-3 Tyrant Guard, or 1-3 Tyrant Guard and a Hive Tyrant.


Maybe in an older edition. There is nothing that says a HT has to start with the TG and cannot leave later. A HT can join a unit of TG exactly like an IC. This means Turn 2, my HT can join, and Turn 3 leave the unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

Happyjew, that is not correct.

Whilst the HT joins the guard like an IC, nothing says it can ever leave, so it cannot.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yeah I guess the "may join a unit of Tyrant Guards exactly as if it were an Independent Character" is what threw me off.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Correct, since that leaves it with no means of leaving.
That is an unrelated rule.

Regarless, the Tyrant is not always a unit consisting of one model.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: